CentOS 6 server

Issues related to hardware problems
Post Reply
squadmind
Posts: 3
Joined: 2020/04/15 12:38:32
Contact:

CentOS 6 server

Post by squadmind » 2020/04/15 13:12:55

Hello all,

I have a CentOS 6 server with onboard Intel RAID 5 with 5 Seagate server grade 500GB hard drives. The first drive (drive0 of the array) has failed (SMART message on power up)and as-is the server will no longer boot up. I am assuming that the boot sector used in this configuration is located on the first drive of the array, thus causing this behavior. All other 4 drives report that they are in good condition.

I received an exact model this week for a replacement, I was wondering if swapping out the drives and booting to the CentOS Live disk would work or be the best option to rebuild the array with the new disk. I have found a bit of info using Google, but none that seems to apply to my specific situation, and I really don't want to lose the current array by making a bad decision. Anyone out there had this experience? Any advice is appreciated.
Top

User avatar
TrevorH
Forum Moderator
Posts: 29723
Joined: 2009/09/24 10:40:56
Location: Brighton, UK

Re: CentOS 6 server

Post by TrevorH » 2020/04/15 13:29:29

"Intel RAID 5" rings alarm bells. Is this FakeRAID, a.k.a BIOS RAID?
CentOS 6 will die in November 2020 - migrate sooner rather than later!
Info for USB installs on http://wiki.centos.org/HowTos/InstallFromUSBkey
CentOS 5 is dead, do not use it.
Full time Geek, part time moderator. Use the FAQ Luke

MartinR
Posts: 613
Joined: 2015/05/11 07:53:27
Location: UK

Re: CentOS 6 server

Post by MartinR » 2020/04/15 14:18:38

FYI see https://www.intel.com/content/www/us/en ... ogies.html. In particular note that at the bottom:
A RAID-Ready system must meet the following requirements:

* Supported Intel® Chipsets
* One Serial ATA (SATA) hard drive
* RAID controller enabled in the BIOS
* Motherboard BIOS that includes the Intel RST option ROM
* Intel RST software
* Hard drive partition with at least 5 MB of free space
I think your alarm bell may have become a bit louder.

Post Reply

Return to “CentOS 6 - Hardware Support”