[SOLVED] Booting into Emergency Mode CentOS 7

Issues related to applications and software problems
dona paula

[SOLVED] Booting into Emergency Mode CentOS 7

Post by dona paula » 2019/05/30 14:37:45

Dear Friends,

Centos Newbie here and requesting your help on the following:

Due to a sudden power outage, my Centos 7 laptop shutdown and is now booting into emergency mode. I have the root password. All important files are on the desktop of user "Dona" and I wish to back up of these files. However I am unable to see the desktop folder in the directory at /home/Dona/Desktop after using root password.

All I need are few files on the desktop of user "Dona". After that I want to reformat the system and load the centos again.

Please help. Thank you

Dona Paula

TrevorH
Forum Moderator

Re: Booting into Emergency Mode CentOS 7

Post by TrevorH » 2019/05/30 15:04:53

I would start by just booting the install DVD in rescue mode which is an option off the initial "Troubleshooting" menu you see when you first boot from the install media. From there, try running the xfs_repair command against your filesystems. Rescue mode asks you if you want to mount your system partitions and in order to run xfs_repair they mist not be mounted so say no.

If that fixes your problem then you won't need to reinstall. If it does not then you can boot in rescue mode again and this time have it mount your filesystems and copy the data off to a USB stick or to somewhere on the network.

Also, if you use Shift-PgUp you should be able to scroll up the console output from the emergency mode and see the actual error that it got that made it drop to emergency mode. For example, a trivialway to get it go into emergency mode is to list a filesystem in /etc/fstab that either doesn't exist or has problems being mounted. Just that will cause the system to not boot. And very easily fixable by commenting the offending line in fstab.
CentOS 6 died in November 2020 - migrate to a new version!