Can't boot due to "Dracut initqueue timeout"

Issues related to applications and software problems
Post Reply
Au{R}oN
Posts: 3
Joined: 2017/06/25 09:57:20

Can't boot due to "Dracut initqueue timeout"

Post by Au{R}oN » 2017/06/25 10:10:36

Hello guys, for 'easy deployment reasons' i made an ISO image (using clonezilla) of a customized CentoOS 7 machine. It boot and works flawlessly on virtualbox but it can't boot on VMware and i can't really understand what's going on....

This is a screen of the boot
Boot problem
Boot problem
Screenshot 2017-06-25 11.54.51.png (52.09 KiB) Viewed 51312 times
Any suggestions?

Thanks,
Au{R}oN
Last edited by Au{R}oN on 2017/06/25 15:07:16, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
TrevorH
Forum Moderator
Posts: 30337
Joined: 2009/09/24 10:40:56
Location: Brighton, UK

Re: Can't boot due to "Dracut initqueue timeout"

Post by TrevorH » 2017/06/25 13:40:02

The CentOS iso images are all dual capable and can be booted on both UEFI and legacy BIOS systems. It sounds like you broke that.
CentOS 6 died in November 2020 - migrate to a new version!
Info for USB installs on http://wiki.centos.org/HowTos/InstallFromUSBkey
CentOS 5 is dead, do not use it.
Full time Geek, part time moderator. Use the FAQ Luke

Au{R}oN
Posts: 3
Joined: 2017/06/25 09:57:20

Re: Can't boot due to "Dracut initqueue timeout"

Post by Au{R}oN » 2017/06/25 18:15:36

Hi Trevor, thanks for the answer. Mhhh, i can boot in the system in rescue mode.. this shouldn't be possibile if the problem was something like that, correct?

CaViCcHi
Posts: 68
Joined: 2012/04/18 17:03:15
Contact:

Re: Can't boot due to "Dracut initqueue timeout"

Post by CaViCcHi » 2017/06/28 19:11:10

at boot, dracut during initqueue is trying to understand what is your root device that he needs to mount and he can't understand it... so you probably need to fix the cmdline in your boot (likely the APPEND line of your grub/exlinux)

you could modify the cmdline and enter a

rd.break=initqueue

if you want the boot process to send you to an interactive shell right before it looks for the root, for debug purposes (to continue after the break just "exit" )

but anyway you're likely just have a wrong cmdline and you have to direct the ROOT towards the right disk/partition

Au{R}oN
Posts: 3
Joined: 2017/06/25 09:57:20

Re: Can't boot due to "Dracut initqueue timeout"

Post by Au{R}oN » 2017/07/06 13:27:22

Hi CaViCcHi. Nope, root point to the correct partition. I can see that during the boot in rescue mode.

Anyway i just fixed the problem. One command to fix all that ****.

Just boot in Rescue mode and type:
dracut -f

Problem Solved. :D :D

akincansenol
Posts: 1
Joined: 2015/05/15 18:20:54

Re: Can't boot due to "Dracut initqueue timeout"

Post by akincansenol » 2018/08/30 20:38:41

Hi Au{R}oN,

I tried dracut -f in rescue mode but it says command not found on 7.5.
I'm looking for resolving the same issue.

User avatar
TrevorH
Forum Moderator
Posts: 30337
Joined: 2009/09/24 10:40:56
Location: Brighton, UK

Re: Can't boot due to "Dracut initqueue timeout"

Post by TrevorH » 2018/08/31 14:29:21

In rescue mode? Or emergency mode? They are different things and one is much more capable than the other.
CentOS 6 died in November 2020 - migrate to a new version!
Info for USB installs on http://wiki.centos.org/HowTos/InstallFromUSBkey
CentOS 5 is dead, do not use it.
Full time Geek, part time moderator. Use the FAQ Luke

Post Reply

Return to “CentOS 7 - Software Support”