Temperature Monitoring

General support questions including new installations
mad_professor_
Posts: 7
Joined: 2008/12/27 21:20:49

Temperature Monitoring

Post by mad_professor_ » 2009/09/17 17:33:06

Good Day All.

Let me 1st just start by saying that I am a newish user to Linux so please bear with me.

Right to my questions.

I own some Sun Cobalt RaQ 550 Web Servers, thease have been loaded with [url=http://www.osoffice.co.uk/products/strongbolt2.html]StrongBolt2[/url] OS, based around CentOS 4.8.

The system has it's own web GUI called [url=http://www.osoffice.co.uk/products/ospanel.html]OSPanel[/url], based around the old cobalt gui.

As far as I can see and tell there is no way to view or monitor the temperature of the CPU and or Hard Drives.

Can someone please advice me the best way to go about, please bear in mind any replys to be dumbed down for a newbe please.

Thanks for your time.

Best Regards.

pjwelsh
Posts: 2618
Joined: 2007/01/07 02:18:02
Location: Central IL USA

Re: Temperature Monitoring

Post by pjwelsh » 2009/09/17 19:11:31

"lm_sensors" is the package you need to start with. It will contain a program called "sensors-detect" that will *attempt* to figure out you MB's ability. I hope you do not have a problem installing this package (http://wiki.centos.org/TipsAndTricks/BrokenVserver).

mad_professor_
Posts: 7
Joined: 2008/12/27 21:20:49

Re: Temperature Monitoring

Post by mad_professor_ » 2009/09/19 08:12:28

Thank you for your reply.

As I am new to linux I have been looking around trying to work out how to install and setup eveything my self, to learn instead of being told.

But I am having problems getting lm-sensors installed and working.

I 1st tried via "yum install lm-sensors" just comes back with nothing to do.

I have / think I have installed "lm-sensors 3.1.1" and updated the "sensors-detect" file with the new info.

[quote]
[root@localhost admin]# /usr/bin/sensors-detect

# sensors-detect revision 5769 (2009-09-14 12:50:45 +0200)
# DMI data unavailable, please consider installing dmidecode 2.7
# or later for better results.

This program will help you determine which kernel modules you need
to load to use lm_sensors most effectively. It is generally safe
and recommended to accept the default answers to all questions,
unless you know what you're doing.

Some south bridges, CPUs or memory controllers contain embedded sensors.
Do you want to scan for them? This is totally safe. (YES/no): YES

Silicon Integrated Systems SIS5595... No
VIA VT82C686 Integrated Sensors... No
VIA VT8231 Integrated Sensors... No
AMD K8 thermal sensors... No
AMD Family 11h thermal sensors... No
Intel Core family thermal sensor... No
Intel AMB FB-DIMM thermal sensor... No
VIA C7 thermal and voltage sensors... No

Some Super I/O chips contain embedded sensors. We have to write to
standard I/O ports to probe them. This is usually safe.
Do you want to scan for Super I/O sensors? (YES/no): YES

Probing for Super-I/O at 0x2e/0x2f
Trying family `National Semiconductor'... Yes
Found `Nat. Semi. PC8741x Super IO'
(no hardware monitoring capabilities)
Probing for Super-I/O at 0x4e/0x4f
Trying family `National Semiconductor'... No
Trying family `SMSC'... No
Trying family `VIA/Winbond/Fintek'... No
Trying family `ITE'... No

Some systems (mainly servers) implement IPMI, a set of common interfaces
through which system health data may be retrieved, amongst other things.
We first try to get the information from SMBIOS. If we don't find it
there, we have to read from arbitrary I/O ports to probe for such
interfaces. This is normally safe. Do you want to scan for IPMI
interfaces? (YES/no): YES
Probing for `IPMI BMC KCS' at 0xca0... No
Probing for `IPMI BMC SMIC' at 0xca8... No

Some hardware monitoring chips are accessible through the ISA I/O ports.
We have to write to arbitrary I/O ports to probe them. This is usually
safe though. Yes, you do have ISA I/O ports even if you do not have any
ISA slots! Do you want to scan the ISA I/O ports? (YES/no): YES

Probing for `National Semiconductor LM78' at 0x290... No
Probing for `National Semiconductor LM79' at 0x290... No
Probing for `Winbond W83781D' at 0x290... No
Probing for `Winbond W83782D' at 0x290... No

Lastly, we can probe the I2C/SMBus adapters for connected hardware
monitoring devices. This is the most risky part, and while it works
reasonably well on most systems, it has been reported to cause trouble
on some systems.
Do you want to probe the I2C/SMBus adapters now? (YES/no): YES

[b]Using driver `i2c-piix4' for device 0000:00:0f.0: ServerWorks CSB5 South Bridge
Module i2c-dev loaded successfully.[/b]

Next adapter: SMBus PIIX4 adapter at 3a80 (i2c-0)
Do you want to scan it? (YES/no/selectively): YES

Client found at address 0x2f
Probing for `National Semiconductor LM78'... No
Probing for `National Semiconductor LM79'... No
Probing for `National Semiconductor LM80'... No
Probing for `Analog Devices ADT7470'... No
Probing for `Winbond W83781D'... No
Probing for `Winbond W83782D'... No
Probing for `Winbond W83791D'... No
Probing for `Winbond W83792D'... No
Probing for `Winbond W83793R/G'... No
Probing for `Nuvoton W83795G/ADG'... No
Probing for `Winbond W83627HF'... No
Probing for `Winbond W83627EHF'... No
Probing for `Winbond W83627DHG'... No
Probing for `Asus AS99127F (rev.1)'... No
Probing for `Asus AS99127F (rev.2)'... No
Probing for `Asus ASB100 Bach'... No
Probing for `Winbond W83L786NR/NG/R/G'... No
Probing for `Analog Devices ADM9240'... No
Probing for `Dallas Semiconductor DS1780'... No
Probing for `National Semiconductor LM81'... No
[b]Probing for `Analog Devices ADM1029'... Success![/b]
(confidence 7, driver `adm1029')
Probing for `ITE IT8712F'... No
Probing for `Fintek custom power control IC'... No
Probing for `Winbond W83791SD'... No
Client found at address 0x50
Handled by driver `eeprom' (already loaded), chip type `eeprom'
(note: this is probably NOT a sensor chip!)
Client found at address 0x51
Handled by driver `eeprom' (already loaded), chip type `eeprom'
(note: this is probably NOT a sensor chip!)

Now follows a summary of the probes I have just done.
Just press ENTER to continue:

Driver `adm1029':
* Bus `SMBus PIIX4 adapter at 3a80'
Busdriver `i2c_piix4', I2C address 0x2f
Chip `Analog Devices ADM1029' (confidence: 7)

Warning: the required module adm1029 is not currently installed
on your system. If it is built into the kernel then it's OK.
Otherwise, check http://www.lm-sensors.org/wiki/Devices for
driver availability.

No modules to load, skipping modules configuration.

Unloading i2c-dev... OK
[/quote]

I do see that is sees two things to do with my server "ServerWorks CSB5 South Bridge" and "ADM1029".

I see that it gives me a warning about a required module / driver for the ADM1029, how do I go about install / setting this up.

Once again I am running StrongBolt2 OS based on CentOS 4.8 (Final), Linux Version: 2.6.18-53.el5.sb.

Thanks for your time.

Best Regards.

pschaff
Retired Moderator
Posts: 18276
Joined: 2006/12/13 20:15:34
Location: Tidewater, Virginia, North America
Contact:

Re: Temperature Monitoring

Post by pschaff » 2009/09/21 17:22:03

[quote]
mad_professor_ wrote:
...
Once again I am running StrongBolt2 OS based on CentOS 4.8 (Final), Linux Version: 2.6.18-53.el5.sb.
...[/quote]

That is not a CentOS-4 or even a CentOS kernel. The current version in updates - 2.6.9-89.0.11.EL. You could try updating to a standard kernel, but no guarantee that it won't break something.

Edit: Seems adm1029 is not found in the CentOS-4 standard kernels either - at least I don't see it in modules or in /boot/config\*
Edit2: Fix my oversight after seeing [b]pjwelsh[/b]'s comment. :oops:

pjwelsh
Posts: 2618
Joined: 2007/01/07 02:18:02
Location: Central IL USA

Re: Temperature Monitoring

Post by pjwelsh » 2009/09/21 19:06:40

[quote]
Once again I am running StrongBolt2 OS based on CentOS 4.8 (Final), Linux Version: 2.6.18-53.el5.sb.
[/quote]

Errrrr kinda mixed up with the system... CentOS 4.x will not have a kernel with the "el5" designation for it (meaning CentOS 5.x)...

mad_professor_
Posts: 7
Joined: 2008/12/27 21:20:49

Re: Temperature Monitoring

Post by mad_professor_ » 2009/09/22 11:32:39

I am no linux expert but I do know that CentOS 4 is ment to be el4 and CentOS 5 is ment to be el5.

The details I gave are what is shown in phpSysInfo-2.5.1.

Kernel Version: 2.6.18-53.el5.sb (SMP).
Distro Name: CentOS release 4.8 (Final).

Both "uname -r" and "ls /lib/modules" comes back with 2.6.18-53.el5.sb.

As said before this is all custom stuff done by (www.osoffice.co.uk).

User avatar
toracat
Forum Moderator
Posts: 7444
Joined: 2006/09/03 16:37:24
Location: California, US
Contact:

Temperature Monitoring

Post by toracat » 2009/09/22 12:14:46

[quote]
mad_professor_ wrote:

As said before this is all custom stuff done by (www.osoffice.co.uk).[/quote]
I'm afraid we (the CentOS community) may not be able to help much here. In fact, any advice we provide might actually [i]break[/i] your system because of the customization done to the OS.

pjwelsh
Posts: 2618
Joined: 2007/01/07 02:18:02
Location: Central IL USA

Re: Temperature Monitoring

Post by pjwelsh » 2009/09/22 12:23:11

As part of this, have you just run the "sensors" program to see is you get output? Some may work.

pschaff
Retired Moderator
Posts: 18276
Joined: 2006/12/13 20:15:34
Location: Tidewater, Virginia, North America
Contact:

Re: Temperature Monitoring

Post by pschaff » 2009/09/22 13:41:44

Added a section on OS Office to [url=http://wiki.centos.org/AdditionalResources/OtherVoices]Other Voices[/url].

mad_professor_
Posts: 7
Joined: 2008/12/27 21:20:49

Re: Temperature Monitoring

Post by mad_professor_ » 2009/09/22 17:12:24

The current RaQ 550 Web Server, I use only for testing.

So if I end messing up the software it's not a big deal to me.

I am also looking to see how I can get a full official copy of CentOS 5 on this server: [url=https://www.centos.org/modules/newbb/viewtopic.php?topic_id=22298&forum=37]Installing on Sun Cobalt RaQ 550 Web Server[/url]

But I don't want to go into more details and end up cross posting.

I also totaly understand that as the OS my server is currently running is not an official copy of CentOS, that you might not be able to fully help me.

Post Reply

Return to “CentOS 4 - General Support”