eth0 - How to enable?

Issues related to configuring your network
Post Reply
agriz
Posts: 267
Joined: 2011/11/19 15:17:40

eth0 - How to enable?

Post by agriz » 2011/11/27 12:58:24

How do i enable my network in terminal?

Thanks

dejanst
Posts: 124
Joined: 2011/09/20 14:13:13

Re: eth0 - How to enable?

Post by dejanst » 2011/11/28 09:52:57

Edit the cd /etc/sysconfig/network-scripts/ifcfg-ethX (X is the index of your NIC) according to your network topology and manipulate with the NIC up/down status with commands ifup/ifdown.

alirezaheidari
Posts: 2
Joined: 2011/11/28 09:37:53
Location: IR
Contact:

Re: eth0 - How to enable?

Post by alirezaheidari » 2011/11/28 09:56:06

[size=96][color=000066][font=Arial]this is so easy..[/font][/color][/size]
you just..
[code]su - root[/code]
[code]/sbin/ifconfig eth0[/code]
[code]/sbin/ifconfig eth0 up[/code]
enjoy it..

pschaff
Retired Moderator
Posts: 18276
Joined: 2006/12/13 20:15:34
Location: Tidewater, Virginia, North America
Contact:

eth0 - How to enable?

Post by pschaff » 2011/11/28 21:17:01

CentOS-6 uses NetworkManager by default. If you wish to use the "traditional" network service from the command line then use chkconfig to disable NetworkManager and make sure the network service is running. If etc/sysconfig/network-scripts/ifcfg-eth0 (or whatever your device is named) has a line[code]NM_CONTROLLED="yes"[/code]change it to[code]NM_CONTROLLED="no"[/code]

See also [url=http://wiki.centos.org/FAQ/CentOS6#head-b67e85d98f0e9f1b599358105c551632c6ff7c90]CentOS-6 FAQ #2. Why does my Ethernet not work unless I log in and explicitly enable it?[/url]

If more help is needed then please explain the problem more completely and [url=http://www.centos.org/modules/newbb/viewtopic.php?topic_id=28723&forum=54]provide more information about your system[/url] by running "./getinfo.sh network" and showing us the output file.

pkoraca
Posts: 3
Joined: 2011/11/23 13:25:38

Re: eth0 - How to enable?

Post by pkoraca » 2011/11/29 08:07:04

I did a minimal CentOS installation on Hyper-V and by default I didn't have network file in /etc/sysconfig/ and ifcfg-eth0 in /etc/sysconfig/network-scripts so I had to create those two files.

minigts
Posts: 1
Joined: 2014/11/25 14:53:44

Re: eth0 - How to enable?

Post by minigts » 2014/11/25 14:56:35

Just wanted to post because this helped me. I'm running CentOS 7. For my version, the path is correct but eth0 was named and I had an option of ONBOOT=NO, set it to YES and this set my NIC as active on boot.

Thanks again for the help!

automatikdonn
Posts: 8
Joined: 2014/11/29 18:46:01

Re: eth0 - How to enable?

Post by automatikdonn » 2014/11/29 19:02:33

You can also type sudo ifup eth0

As posted before make sure ONBOOT = yes

Post Reply