problem with network manager.

Issues related to configuring your network
Post Reply
shadowen
Posts: 2
Joined: 2020/12/30 20:29:07

problem with network manager.

Post by shadowen » 2020/12/30 20:54:39

Using Centos 8.

If I start up the internet interface using the old style commands.

# ifconfig eno1 192.168.1.6 netmask 255.255.255.0
# route add default gateway 192.168.1.1

then everything works perfectly as it should, I can ssh to the machine from the internet, and from the local LAN.

However if I use network manager to initiate the connection - by rebooting.

Then the network comes up and the routes appear to be set correctly, as does the IP adresse. However, I cannot ssh to the machine from the local lan, but I can ssh from the internet, I am using keys as authentication..

Thus, if I from a machine (IP 192.168.1.130) issue the following commands.

# ssh 192.168.1.6
kex_exchange_identification: read: Connection reset by peer
Connection reset by 192.168.1.6 port 22

# curl 192.168.1.6
curl: (56) Recv failure: Connection reset by peer


but if I use the official hostname, and go out, and in through the router, something else happens.

#ssh <internet hostname>
Activate the web console with: systemctl enable --now cockpit.socket

Last login: Wed Dec 30 15:30:09 2020 from 192.168.1.1
setterm: terminal xterm-256color does not support --blength

and ends with a prompt on the server.


It is not isolated to ssh, all services have the same connection reset..

I presume it has something to do with the firewall configuration, however the firewall configuration is not changed, when I manually override the network manager configuration with manual configuration, and the connection reset problems goes away..

I have tried running firewalld in debug mode, nothing is registered.. TCP dump indicates a connection reset from the server 192.168.1.6, as the applications are indicating.

But I know there is some *magic* that connects the network manager to the firewall but I cannot figure out what the magic is.

How simple this was in the days of scripts, and even simpler to debug, without this extra magic :-(

Anyhow..

The public zone is defined to have acces to the services I allow, and the eno1 interface is defined as a part of the public zone.

ifcfg-eno1 configuration is :
TYPE=Ethernet
DEVICE=eno1
NAME=eno1
ONBOOT=yes
NM_CONTROLLED=yes
BOOTPROTO=none
PROXY_METHOD=none
BROWSER_ONLY=no
DEFROUTE=yes
IPV4_FAILURE_FATAL=no
IPV6INIT=yes
IPV6_AUTOCONF=yes
IPV6_DEFROUTE=yes
IPV6_FAILURE_FATAL=no
IPV6_ADDR_GEN_MODE=stable-privacy
UUID=e6e788ad-8b08-4ac2-b712-474ec484d639
IPADDR=192.168.1.6
NETMASK=255.255.255.255
PREFIX=32
GATEWAY=192.168.1.1

# firewall-cmd --get-active-zones
docker
interfaces: docker0
libvirt
interfaces: virbr0
public
interfaces: eno1
trusted
sources: 192.168.1.2/24

# nmcli con show
NAME UUID TYPE DEVICE
eno1 e6e788ad-8b08-4ac2-b712-474ec484d639 ethernet eno1

# nmcli dev status
DEVICE TYPE STATE CONNECTION
eno1 ethernet connected eno1
docker0 bridge connected (externally) docker0
virbr0 bridge connected (externally) virbr0

# ip a
1: lo: <LOOPBACK,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 65536 qdisc noqueue state UNKNOWN group default qlen 1000
link/loopback 00:00:00:00:00:00 brd 00:00:00:00:00:00
inet 127.0.0.1/8 scope host lo
valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
inet6 ::1/128 scope host
valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
2: eno1: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 1500 qdisc fq_codel state UP group default qlen 1000
link/ether 04:d4:c4:f3:4a:66 brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
inet 192.168.1.6/32 scope global noprefixroute eno1
valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
inet6 fe80::9d30:4ac9:72b6:3b47/64 scope link noprefixroute
valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever

Any ideas what is wrong ? The system is a new installation of centos 8. Minimal system changes to support docker, database, and network services.

User avatar
jlehtone
Posts: 4530
Joined: 2007/12/11 08:17:33
Location: Finland

Re: problem with network manager.

Post by jlehtone » 2020/12/31 13:08:32

shadowen wrote:
2020/12/30 20:54:39
# ifconfig eno1 192.168.1.6 netmask 255.255.255.0

NETMASK=255.255.255.255
PREFIX=32
You have somehow set the NM to use 192.168.1.6/32, but manually you use 192.168.1.6/24.

shadowen
Posts: 2
Joined: 2020/12/30 20:29:07

Re: problem with network manager.

Post by shadowen » 2020/12/31 15:10:55

Thank you - well spottet, can be blinded when chasing a bug..

most appreciated..

Strange that anything worked at all.

Now I just wonder how that happened, uh well..

User avatar
jlehtone
Posts: 4530
Joined: 2007/12/11 08:17:33
Location: Finland

Re: problem with network manager.

Post by jlehtone » 2020/12/31 15:24:41

I'd wager that if you give ipv4.addresses 192.168.1.6 to nmcli, then it will add the /32.

Post Reply