I get an error trying to install anything via terminal and manager

Issues related to applications and software problems and general support
Post Reply
iqfen
Posts: 2
Joined: 2019/12/04 20:21:38

I get an error trying to install anything via terminal and manager

Post by iqfen » 2019/12/04 20:37:09

So while trying to install software today I encountered this error:

Code: Select all

Error: Failed to synchronize cache for repo 'c8-media-AppStream'
I honestly don't know what to do I just freshly installed the distro.
Another thing is that it seems like that I can't install any software via the "Software" app.
While trying to look for updates I get tthese errors:
Screenshot from 2019-12-04 20-35-10.png
Screenshot from 2019-12-04 20-35-10.png (83.21 KiB) Viewed 6103 times
Screenshot from 2019-12-04 20-18-39.png
Screenshot from 2019-12-04 20-18-39.png (11.74 KiB) Viewed 6103 times
Also I don't see any software besides the ones that I have selected in the installer.
I really like CentOS but without any Software it is literally unusable so I hope for any help

User avatar
TrevorH
Site Admin
Posts: 32401
Joined: 2009/09/24 10:40:56
Location: Brighton, UK

Re: I get an error trying to install anything via terminal and manager

Post by TrevorH » 2019/12/04 22:31:11

c8-media-AppStream is the repo for using the DVD iso mounted on one of the directories mentioned in /etc/yum/repos.d in teh c8-media.repo file. It's disabled by default so you would appear to have enabled it on purpose and now you need to disable it, either by editing the repo file and changing enabled=1 to 0 or by running dnf config-manager --disable c8-media-AppStream
CentOS 8 died a premature death at the end of 2021 - migrate to Rocky/Alma/OEL/Springdale ASAP.
Info for USB installs on http://wiki.centos.org/HowTos/InstallFromUSBkey
CentOS 5 and 6 are dead, do not use them.
Use the FAQ Luke

iqfen
Posts: 2
Joined: 2019/12/04 20:21:38

Re: I get an error trying to install anything via terminal and manager

Post by iqfen » 2019/12/04 23:12:26

Thanks, I at least fixed that now hahah. I still don't see any Software in the software manager though which still sucks
But thank you already

Post Reply