Rollback an upgrade? Hardware not supported...

General support questions including new installations
User avatar
TrevorH
Forum Moderator
Posts: 29936
Joined: 2009/09/24 10:40:56
Location: Brighton, UK

Re: Rollback an upgrade? Hardware not supported...

Post by TrevorH » 2011/12/28 22:21:36

That controller also appears to be supported by CentOS 5.

pYr8
Posts: 13
Joined: 2011/12/27 15:24:47
Location: Texas

Re: Rollback an upgrade? Hardware not supported...

Post by pYr8 » 2011/12/29 03:13:05

Thanks much, it's getting late here and a few ales later as well. I appreciate all input and will implement what I can with discretion.
I'm embarrassed that I got into this situation in the first place, though first time for everything I guess...
Thanks all, hope I resolve without bothering anyone else...

Karl

pYr8
Posts: 13
Joined: 2011/12/27 15:24:47
Location: Texas

Re: Rollback an upgrade? Hardware not supported...

Post by pYr8 » 2011/12/29 19:43:27

[quote]
pschaff wrote:
It's not clear to me where you are in this process, but if still trying to get back to a working 3.9, then yes - all relevant packages need to be latest 3.X versions. Anything replaced in the attempt to upgrade should be reverted, or at least anything that impacts the functionality you need.[/quote]

Alas, I'm recanting on my not bugging y'all any more. I was in a state of despair last night...

I'm looking at the shipping delays for a new server. I guess the Thai floods have really taken their toll on the hard drive market :-(
At this point I'm torn between attetmpting a rollback or continuing to upgrade through C6. It's looking like I'll have to keep this old server in play for at least another month and I have 3 new Windows 7 workstation to migrate into the domain. I realize a remote upgrade is not a supported method but that's what I'm stuck with for now.

The primary functionality I'm needing out of the machine is Samba with Win7 support (no LDAP currently), dhcpd and named for the LAN, no X Window support.

A power outage outlasting the UPS or other type of reboot may cripple me right now so I'm looking for a little friendly advice. I'm trying to avoid a flight to California if possible :-?

Thanks for your time & knowledge folks!

pschaff
Retired Moderator
Posts: 18276
Joined: 2006/12/13 20:15:34
Location: Tidewater, Virginia, North America
Contact:

Re: Rollback an upgrade? Hardware not supported...

Post by pschaff » 2011/12/31 02:00:44

The state of your system is still not clear, nor was it previously clear exactly how remote you are, nor have you said what kind of remote access you are using or any on-site support capabilities. Please sum up the current status of the system and where you would like to go with this.

pYr8
Posts: 13
Joined: 2011/12/27 15:24:47
Location: Texas

Re: Rollback an upgrade? Hardware not supported...

Post by pYr8 » 2011/12/31 03:27:25

Sorry if I've been vague, not my intention!

Currently the system is running on the 2.4 kernel. Samba is functional as is DNS & DHCP.
I'm 1500 miles from the server / client's office.
I have ssh access to the server in question. Term Server to a Win 2003 server, standalone, that serves as QuickBooks Enterprise server and some file storage. I can shell in from that server as well.
I have no KVM / virtual terminal type of service.
Onsite support is minimal, I can direct secretaries or other non-tech folks to do simple tasks.

Summary, it's running & doing it's job, less smbfs duties for passing backups off to the Windows box. I feel that if is went down for any reason it wouldn't come back up. The support on the other end would probably be less than helpful.

I appreciate your jumping in with questions Phil, thank you very much.
It's rather funny, the server in question cost about $500 at the time (2003) and has never been a problem. Windows 7 becomes standard, I try an upgrade and all falls half way to hell :-(
I did get another server ordered today but it may still be 2 weeks or more untill I have it configured & shipped to them.

Thanks much
Karl

pschaff
Retired Moderator
Posts: 18276
Joined: 2006/12/13 20:15:34
Location: Tidewater, Virginia, North America
Contact:

Re: Rollback an upgrade? Hardware not supported...

Post by pschaff » 2011/12/31 11:56:40

With that clarification, I would muddle on through without touching anything if possible. For a new server, and for Windows 7 support, you really need a later Samba version. Upgrading the 3.x system remotely is not likely to work, as you have discovered. The best choice as of now is 6.2 for the new hardware.

If you really must have the Windows services sooner, and you can back up the current installation, and/or better yet have room for a parallel install with dual-boot, then a [url=http://wiki.centos.org/TipsAndTricks/VncHeadlessInstall]VNC remote install[/url] would be the best bet. It should require minimal on-site support if well-planned. If at all possible test locally before proceeding. For general guidance see the Wiki [url=http://wiki.centos.org/HowTos/MigrationGuide]Migration Guide[/url] and the [url=http://docs.redhat.com/docs/en-US/Red_Hat_Enterprise_Linux/6/html-single/Installation_Guide/index.html#sn-remoteaccess-installation-vnc]upstream Installation Guide[/url].

For more verification of hardware compatibility if you do want to try that, please run the following as root and post the results, or check as above on a running 6.2 system.[code]
lspci -m
lspci -n[/code]

For guidance on disk usage possibilities show also[code]
df -h
fdisk -l[/code]

pYr8
Posts: 13
Joined: 2011/12/27 15:24:47
Location: Texas

Re: Rollback an upgrade? Hardware not supported...

Post by pYr8 » 2011/12/31 16:40:11

Hi Phil-

Thanks for your help!
Here's the outputs you asked for. The fdisk output, or lack thereof, kinda spooks me.
[code]
[root@bluefin root]# lspci -m
00:00.0 "Host bridge" "Intel Corporation" "82875P/E7210 Memory Controller Hub" -r02 "Dell" "0162"
00:01.0 "PCI bridge" "Intel Corporation" "82875P Processor to AGP Controller" -r02 "" ""
00:1d.0 "USB Controller" "Intel Corporation" "82801EB/ER (ICH5/ICH5R) USB UHCI Controller #1" -r02 "Dell" "0162"
00:1d.1 "USB Controller" "Intel Corporation" "82801EB/ER (ICH5/ICH5R) USB UHCI Controller #2" -r02 "Dell" "0162"
00:1d.2 "USB Controller" "Intel Corporation" "82801EB/ER (ICH5/ICH5R) USB UHCI Controller #3" -r02 "Dell" "0162"
00:1d.3 "USB Controller" "Intel Corporation" "82801EB/ER (ICH5/ICH5R) USB UHCI Controller #4" -r02 "Dell" "0162"
00:1d.7 "USB Controller" "Intel Corporation" "82801EB/ER (ICH5/ICH5R) USB2 EHCI Controller" -r02 -p20 "Dell" "0162"
00:1e.0 "PCI bridge" "Intel Corporation" "82801 PCI Bridge" -rc2 "" ""
00:1f.0 "ISA bridge" "Intel Corporation" "82801EB/ER (ICH5/ICH5R) LPC Interface Bridge" -r02 "" ""
00:1f.1 "IDE interface" "Intel Corporation" "82801EB/ER (ICH5/ICH5R) IDE Controller" -r02 -p8a "Dell" "0162"
00:1f.2 "IDE interface" "Intel Corporation" "82801EB (ICH5) SATA Controller" -r02 -p8f "Dell" "0162"
00:1f.3 "SMBus" "Intel Corporation" "82801EB/ER (ICH5/ICH5R) SMBus Controller" -r02 "Dell" "0162"
00:1f.5 "Multimedia audio controller" "Intel Corporation" "82801EB/ER (ICH5/ICH5R) AC'97 Audio Controller" -r02 "Dell" "0162"
02:00.0 "VGA compatible controller" "ATI Technologies Inc" "Rage XL" -r27 "ATI Technologies Inc" "Rage XL"
02:01.0 "RAID bus controller" "American Megatrends Inc." "MegaRAID" -r02 "Dell" "PowerEdge Cost Effective RAID Controller ATA100/4Ch"
02:0c.0 "Ethernet controller" "Intel Corporation" "82540EM Gigabit Ethernet Controller" -r02 "Dell" "0156"

[root@bluefin root]# lspci -n
00:00.0 Class 0600: 8086:2578 (rev 02)
00:01.0 Class 0604: 8086:2579 (rev 02)
00:1d.0 Class 0c03: 8086:24d2 (rev 02)
00:1d.1 Class 0c03: 8086:24d4 (rev 02)
00:1d.2 Class 0c03: 8086:24d7 (rev 02)
00:1d.3 Class 0c03: 8086:24de (rev 02)
00:1d.7 Class 0c03: 8086:24dd (rev 02)
00:1e.0 Class 0604: 8086:244e (rev c2)
00:1f.0 Class 0601: 8086:24d0 (rev 02)
00:1f.1 Class 0101: 8086:24db (rev 02)
00:1f.2 Class 0101: 8086:24d1 (rev 02)
00:1f.3 Class 0c05: 8086:24d3 (rev 02)
00:1f.5 Class 0401: 8086:24d5 (rev 02)
02:00.0 Class 0300: 1002:4752 (rev 27)
02:01.0 Class 0104: 101e:1960 (rev 02)
02:0c.0 Class 0200: 8086:100e (rev 02)

[root@bluefin root]# df -h
Filesystem Size Used Avail Use% Mounted on
/dev/sda3 30G 20G 9.2G 68% /
/dev/sda1 99M 12M 82M 13% /boot
/dev/hdc1 230G 172G 46G 79% /home2
none 502M 0 502M 0% /dev/shm
/dev/sda2 4.9G 854M 3.8G 19% /var

[root@bluefin root]# fdisk -l
[root@bluefin root]#
[/code][Moderator edit: Added [i]code[/i] tags to preserve formatting.]

I'll be reading up on your suggested links and backing up all the shares & profiles. I do have backups of all the samba tdbs and smb.conf.
If I can pull off a parallel install to hold it over for a couple weeks that would be great. Keeping the users out of the server for such procedures is a pain, they are a bunch of workaholics, heh. They'll just have to deal with it.

Side note*The new server I ordered shouldn't have as long a delay as first anticipated as Dell had some 1TB near-line sas drives available. I included the idrac remote management on that one which should help in the future. Wish I had something like that on the current box...

pschaff
Retired Moderator
Posts: 18276
Joined: 2006/12/13 20:15:34
Location: Tidewater, Virginia, North America
Contact:

Re: Rollback an upgrade? Hardware not supported...

Post by pschaff » 2011/12/31 23:32:06

I don't see anything there that should be a problem with CentOS-6 although I have not checked every Vendor:DeviceID pair. The lack of fdisk output is strange and puzzling. How can you be running with no disks detected? Perhaps a side effect of the upgrade attempt.

User avatar
AlanBartlett
Forum Moderator
Posts: 9325
Joined: 2007/10/22 11:30:09
Location: ~/Earth/UK/England/Suffolk
Contact:

Re: Rollback an upgrade? Hardware not supported...

Post by AlanBartlett » 2011/12/31 23:40:22

Just a thought . . . perhaps invoking [i]fdisk[/i] with the full path may obtain the desired response?

[code]
[b]/sbin/fdisk -l[/b]
[/code]

pschaff
Retired Moderator
Posts: 18276
Joined: 2006/12/13 20:15:34
Location: Tidewater, Virginia, North America
Contact:

Re: Rollback an upgrade? Hardware not supported...

Post by pschaff » 2011/12/31 23:51:14

Don't think so. I'd have expected[code]-bash: fdisk: command not found[/code]or similar if the path where the problem. Lack of fdisk output is typical of invocation by not-root with a correct path, but the prompt seems to indicate root.

Post Reply

Return to “CentOS 4 - General Support”