[SOLVED] smbtree: This is utility doesn't work if netbios name resolution is not configured.

Issues related to configuring your network
Post Reply
Dmitry_T
Posts: 3
Joined: 2023/10/03 19:46:41

[SOLVED] smbtree: This is utility doesn't work if netbios name resolution is not configured.

Post by Dmitry_T » 2023/10/03 20:41:52

Hello,
I'm trying to configure samba on CentOS Stream 9.

I have a clean OS in VirtualBox.
"yum info samba samba-client " shows that version 4.18.6-100.el9 is installed.

I'm used to the fact that in Debian smbtree works immediately after installing samba.
However, here smbtree returns the error:
main: This is utility doesn't work if netbios name resolution is not configured.
The complete error is shown in the screenshot:
smbtree_2023-10-04_00-05-48.png
smbtree_2023-10-04_00-05-48.png (17.12 KiB) Viewed 11508 times
I didn't find such an error on the Internet.
What needs to be configured in the CentOS for smbtree to work correctly?
I've never used CentOS before...

testparm:
testparm_2023-10-04_00-32-03.png
testparm_2023-10-04_00-32-03.png (39.92 KiB) Viewed 11508 times
Last edited by Dmitry_T on 2023/10/04 18:53:37, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
TrevorH
Site Admin
Posts: 33281
Joined: 2009/09/24 10:40:56
Location: Brighton, UK

Re: smbtree: This is utility doesn't work if netbios name resolution is not configured.

Post by TrevorH » 2023/10/03 22:14:25

As far as I understand that text, it's not an error, it's telling you that it only works if SMB1 (totally insecure) is enabled on your windows servers..
The future appears to be RHEL or Debian. I think I'm going Debian.
Info for USB installs on http://wiki.centos.org/HowTos/InstallFromUSBkey
CentOS 5 and 6 are deadest, do not use them.
Use the FAQ Luke

Dmitry_T
Posts: 3
Joined: 2023/10/03 19:46:41

Re: smbtree: This is utility doesn't work if netbios name resolution is not configured.

Post by Dmitry_T » 2023/10/04 17:17:48

TrevorH wrote:
2023/10/03 22:14:25
As far as I understand that text, it's not an error, it's telling you that it only works if SMB1 (totally insecure) is enabled on your windows servers..
I added the line "server min protocol = NT1" after [global] to /etc/samba/smb.conf and "systemctl restart smb nmb".
Running "smbtree --option="client min protocol=NT1"" still failed:
smbtree_NT1_2023-10-04_21-11-49.png
smbtree_NT1_2023-10-04_21-11-49.png (25.24 KiB) Viewed 11438 times
On Debian (also with "server min protocol = NT1"), smbtree shows its own OS shares regardless of the presence of windows servers:
smbtree_NT1_debian_2023-10-04_21-13-36.png
smbtree_NT1_debian_2023-10-04_21-13-36.png (32.76 KiB) Viewed 11438 times

Dmitry_T
Posts: 3
Joined: 2023/10/03 19:46:41

Re: smbtree: This is utility doesn't work if netbios name resolution is not configured.

Post by Dmitry_T » 2023/10/04 18:52:22

Problem solved. It turned out that the necessary services were not running. This was a big surprise for me after Debian.
Solution:

Code: Select all

sudo systemctl enable --now smb
sudo systemctl enable --now nmb

tunk
Posts: 1216
Joined: 2017/02/22 15:08:17

Re: [SOLVED] smbtree: This is utility doesn't work if netbios name resolution is not configured.

Post by tunk » 2023/10/05 15:37:39

I guess the reason is that running unnecessary services are potential security risks.

User avatar
TrevorH
Site Admin
Posts: 33281
Joined: 2009/09/24 10:40:56
Location: Brighton, UK

Re: [SOLVED] smbtree: This is utility doesn't work if netbios name resolution is not configured.

Post by TrevorH » 2023/10/05 15:56:56

It does seem that smb is disabled out of the box, presumably for security reasons though you have to explicitly install the samba package to get the service so it does seem a bit overkill...
The future appears to be RHEL or Debian. I think I'm going Debian.
Info for USB installs on http://wiki.centos.org/HowTos/InstallFromUSBkey
CentOS 5 and 6 are deadest, do not use them.
Use the FAQ Luke

Post Reply