Samba-tool error

Issues related to applications and software problems and general support
Post Reply
frankdjc
Posts: 1
Joined: 2022/02/20 02:53:10

Samba-tool error

Post by frankdjc » 2022/02/20 03:05:32

I have a problem trying to use the samba-tool to configure an AD
I'm supposed to have all the dependencies installed, but no matter what arguments I use, the samba-tool command returns errors, for example:

[root@centos8-ad /]# samba-tool -h
ERROR(<class 'ImportError'>): uncaught exception - cannot import name 'dnsserver'
File "/usr/bin/samba-tool", line 44, in <module>
retval = cmd._run("samba-tool", subcommand, *args)
File "/usr/lib64/python3.6/site-packages/samba/netcmd/__init__.py", line 259, in _run
cmd = self.subcommands[cmd_name]
File "/usr/lib64/python3.6/site-packages/samba/netcmd/main.py", line 36, in __getitem__
fromlist=['cmd_%s' %attr]),
File "/usr/lib64/python3.6/site-packages/samba/netcmd/computer.py", line 31, in <module>
from samba.dcerpc import dnsserver, dnsp, security

Another example

[root@centos8-ad /]# samba-tool domain provision --server-role=dc --use-rfc2307 --dns-backend=SAMBA_INTERNAL --realm=ASITE.COM --domain=ASITE
ERROR(<class 'ModuleNotFoundError'>): uncaught exception - No module named 'samba.samdb'
File "/usr/bin/samba-tool", line 44, in <module>
retval = cmd._run("samba-tool", subcommand, *args)
File "/usr/lib64/python3.6/site-packages/samba/netcmd/__init__.py", line 235, in _run
return self.subcommands[subcommand]._run(
File "/usr/lib64/python3.6/site-packages/samba/netcmd/main.py", line 36, in __getitem__
fromlist=['cmd_%s' %attr]),
File "/usr/lib64/python3.6/site-packages/samba/netcmd/domain.py", line 43, in <module>
from samba.join import join_RODC, join_DC
File "/usr/lib64/python3.6/site-packages/samba/join.py", line 22, in <module>
from samba.samdb import SamDB


Could someone tell me, what is the mistake I am making or is there something that I omitted to configure?

michaelweis
Posts: 1
Joined: 2022/06/29 08:28:11

Re: Samba-tool error

Post by michaelweis » 2022/06/29 08:31:16

Hi frankdjc,

I have exactly the same problem (same error-message)

I try to find a solution since two days with no success.

Did you manage to resolve this?


Best regards

Michael

synack
Posts: 1
Joined: 2022/07/12 20:49:28

Re: Samba-tool error

Post by synack » 2022/07/12 20:51:30

The problem is that Red Hat does not provide packages for running Samba as an AD DC

You must build it from source: https://wiki.samba.org/index.php/Build_ ... rom_Source

Post Reply