Problem with the repos

Issues related to applications and software problems and general support
Mila

Problem with the repos

Post by Mila » 2021/05/04 14:51:51

Dear Centos8 users.

I am not an expert in linux, and in most forums I have seen some recommendation to solve the problem with repositories, but I could not. I am having the problem to install mpich libraries in my centos8. In the attached picture you can see what is the error I got.
In others chats I saw they recommended to change the file sea-devel.repo, which in my case has the following structure:
[FedoraPeople-sea]
name=sea's devel packages
baseurl=http://sea.fedorapeople.org/repo
enabled=1
gpgcheck=0

But I do not what exactly I need to change?

Could you please help me?

Mila
problemwithrepos.png
problemwithrepos.png (131.47 KiB) Viewed 1032 times

TrevorH
Site Admin

Re: Problem with the repos

Post by TrevorH » 2021/05/04 16:28:27

That's either the wrong url or the repo is just broken.
The future appears to be RHEL or Debian. I think I'm going Debian.
Info for USB installs on http://wiki.centos.org/HowTos/InstallFromUSBkey
CentOS 5 and 6 are deadest, do not use them.
Use the FAQ Luke

jlehtone

Post by jlehtone » 2021/05/04 16:33:44

mpich ...

Code: Select all

$ sudo dnf -q list \*mpich\*
Available Packages
mpich.i686                                3.2.1-9.el8                     appstream
mpich.x86_64                              3.2.1-9.el8                     appstream
mpich-devel.i686                          3.2.1-9.el8                     appstream
mpich-devel.x86_64                        3.2.1-9.el8                     appstream
mpitests-mpich.x86_64                     5.6.2-1.el8                     appstream
The mpich is in repository appstream. A core CentOS repo.

Note: browser returns with http://sea.fedorapeople.org/repo/repodata/repomd.xml :
You don't have permission to access /repo/repodata/repomd.xml on this server.
If we cannot access file, then we can't read it.