Resolution setting

Issues related to applications and software problems and general support
Post Reply
satimis
Posts: 151
Joined: 2006/11/14 14:24:08

Resolution setting

Post by satimis » 2021/04/24 15:31:40

Hi

CentOS 8 VM client of Oracle VirtualBox

Pls advise which file for setting resolution? Afterwards the resolution won't change on reboot.

Thanks

Regards

User avatar
TrevorH
Site Admin
Posts: 33215
Joined: 2009/09/24 10:40:56
Location: Brighton, UK

Re: Resolution setting

Post by TrevorH » 2021/04/24 16:55:45

If you're using Xorg and not Wayland then this works for me. In /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d create a file called say 01-monitor.conf (doesn't really matter what it's called as long as it ends .conf) containing something like:

Code: Select all

Section "Monitor"
    Identifier "VGA1"
    Modeline "1920x1200" 153.562 1920 1968 2000 2080 1200 1203 1209 1235 +hsync -vsync
    Option "PreferredMode" "1920x1200"
    HorizSync       30-85
    VertRefresh     56-85
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier "Screen0"
    Monitor "VGA1"
    DefaultDepth 24
    SubSection "Display"
        Modes "1920x1200"
    EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier "Device0"
    Driver "vesa"
EndSection
Adjust the Modes and PreferredMode lines to reflect the resolution you want.

You can also install the VBox Guest Additions which allow you to change the resolution on the fly and also allows for seamless mouse integration.
The future appears to be RHEL or Debian. I think I'm going Debian.
Info for USB installs on http://wiki.centos.org/HowTos/InstallFromUSBkey
CentOS 5 and 6 are deadest, do not use them.
Use the FAQ Luke

satimis
Posts: 151
Joined: 2006/11/14 14:24:08

Re: Resolution setting

Post by satimis » 2021/04/24 21:18:12

Hi,

Thanks for your advice.

VBox Guest Additions already installed. I can set resolution 2560x1600 without problem. But on reboot the resolution changes back to 800x600. It is quite funny to me. It never happened before. I have other OS VMs running here without such a problem. Also copy-n-paste doesn't work between CentOS 8 and Host.

Have tried your suggestion but it didn't work to change resolution.

I only replaced

Code: Select all

1920x1200
with

Code: Select all

2560x1600
Regards

Post Reply