tigervnc broke

Issues related to applications and software problems and general support
Post Reply
reallyrex
Posts: 10
Joined: 2018/05/03 15:33:31

tigervnc broke

Post by reallyrex » 2020/07/06 17:07:02

please tell me someone has seen this before :?:

Code: Select all

$ vncserver
bash: vncserver: command not found...
Install package 'tigervnc-server' to provide command 'vncserver'? [N/y] y


 * Waiting in queue... Failed to install packages: higher version "1.10.1-2.el8" of package tigervnc-server.x86_64 is already installed

rxlx ~ $ rpm -qa | grep vnc
tigervnc-selinux-1.10.1-2.el8.noarch
tigervnc-license-1.10.1-2.el8.noarch
gtk-vnc2-0.9.0-2.el8.x86_64
tigervnc-1.10.1-2.el8.x86_64
tigervnc-server-1.10.1-2.el8.x86_64
tigervnc-icons-1.10.1-2.el8.noarch
libvncserver-0.9.11-14.el8.x86_64
tigervnc-server-minimal-1.10.1-2.el8.x86_64
gvnc-0.9.0-2.el8.x86_64

lightman47
Posts: 1161
Joined: 2014/05/21 20:16:00
Location: Central New York, USA

Re: tigervnc broke

Post by lightman47 » 2020/07/06 17:52:30

Your version is different.
Remember - importing/building packages will likely "byte you in the butt" come update time, long after you'd forgotten you did that! Use repos whenever possible.

reallyrex
Posts: 10
Joined: 2018/05/03 15:33:31

Re: tigervnc broke

Post by reallyrex » 2020/07/07 12:56:25

and yet when i remove the tigervnc packages, and reinstall, i get the same error

User avatar
TrevorH
Forum Moderator
Posts: 29117
Joined: 2009/09/24 10:40:56
Location: Brighton, UK

Re: tigervnc broke

Post by TrevorH » 2020/07/07 13:07:38

Is this "Stream"? Because on CentOS 8 we ship tigervnc packages at 1.9.0-15.el8_1 not 1.10.
CentOS 6 will die in November 2020 - migrate sooner rather than later!
Info for USB installs on http://wiki.centos.org/HowTos/InstallFromUSBkey
CentOS 5 is dead, do not use it.
Full time Geek, part time moderator. Use the FAQ Luke

reallyrex
Posts: 10
Joined: 2018/05/03 15:33:31

Re: tigervnc broke

Post by reallyrex » 2020/07/07 18:03:33

It is indeed stream, starting to feel more and more everyday that I should have used plain ol Jane centos 8 lol

User avatar
TrevorH
Forum Moderator
Posts: 29117
Joined: 2009/09/24 10:40:56
Location: Brighton, UK

Re: tigervnc broke

Post by TrevorH » 2020/07/07 19:24:04

I think people misunderstand what Stream is. It's an alpha version of a beta product (RHEL 8.next).
CentOS 6 will die in November 2020 - migrate sooner rather than later!
Info for USB installs on http://wiki.centos.org/HowTos/InstallFromUSBkey
CentOS 5 is dead, do not use it.
Full time Geek, part time moderator. Use the FAQ Luke

reallyrex
Posts: 10
Joined: 2018/05/03 15:33:31

Re: tigervnc broke

Post by reallyrex » 2020/07/08 13:10:12

i completely understand/stood what stream was designed for. I dont see how 1. this statement helps anyone with this issue in anyway 2. that its being "alpha" excuses it for completely breaking already completely functioning software.

Im running tigervnc-server-1.10.1-5.fc32.x86_64 (newer) on fedora and it works just fine. at this point not sure if a version issue or OS issue, but anyone with some helpful info would be much appreciated.

thanks

User avatar
TrevorH
Forum Moderator
Posts: 29117
Joined: 2009/09/24 10:40:56
Location: Brighton, UK

Re: tigervnc broke

Post by TrevorH » 2020/07/08 14:07:25

It's not suitable for production use, that's what's relevant.

Anyway, the problem you have is that you're trying to invoke it from the command line and as far as I can see, the packagers have gone out of their way to make sure you cannot do that. The vncserver binary is not shipped under /bin or /sbin, it's in /usr/libexec/vncserver so it won't be found by a normal search of $PATH since that doesn't and shouldn't include /usr/libexec.

It's designed to be used from systemd unit files and it ships and installs a /usr/lib/systemd/system/vncserver@.service which you need to copy to /etc/systemd/system and amend for your use.
CentOS 6 will die in November 2020 - migrate sooner rather than later!
Info for USB installs on http://wiki.centos.org/HowTos/InstallFromUSBkey
CentOS 5 is dead, do not use it.
Full time Geek, part time moderator. Use the FAQ Luke

reallyrex
Posts: 10
Joined: 2018/05/03 15:33:31

Re: tigervnc broke

Post by reallyrex » 2020/08/01 17:40:52

Okay, i have a solution. tigervnc is now controlled by systemd. running the "vncserver" command to start a session will no longer work. running this command on a fully updated (centos 8 stream) machine will complain and point you to a locally stored file. However this file is in markdown so its sort of weird to see in plain text, i have pasted its contents to gisthub so you can view it a little more naturally.

https://gist.github.com/rexlx/57b5a0ce2 ... 776976eb23

If you want the server to allow remote access, do not include the "localhost" line. obviously the server will need to be reachable and the correct port opened up. in the event you have to use localhost for some odd reason, but still desire to have remote access, on your local machine (the one you want to use to connect to the vnc server) run:

Code: Select all

ssh -L 5901:127.0.0.1:5901 user@vncserver
replacing the port, user and vncserver with your port, user and remote vnc server respectively. This command creates an ssh tunnel between your machines. from there, on your local machine, open tigervnc viewer and enter 127.0.0.1:5901

Post Reply

Return to “CentOS 8 - General Support”