Page 1 of 1

Is it possible to "repair" a daemon by replacing its underlying file?

Posted: 2020/06/30 16:24:35
by thd_4250
Hello All,

I am running a packaged CentOS 8 flavor with the kernel: 4.18.0-193.6.3.el8_2

It's essentially a web server running as a guest VM on my VMware player host hypervisor. (Version 15)

I am guilty of not shutting it down properly a couple of times and it seems to have damaged one of its vital services. I am reticent to scrap the VM and build a new one because a unique licence key value is locked into the instance of the web application it serves.

I pretty much signed up to ask if it is possible to replace the file responsible for the daemon. All thoughts and suggestion are welcome!

Re: Is it possible to "repair" a daemon by replacing its underlying file?

Posted: 2020/06/30 17:18:44
by lightman47
CentOS 8 "flavor"?

That said, I've recovered a few times with "dnf reinstall \*.\*". It takes while because it re-installs everything. Then reboot. No guarantees.

Re: Is it possible to "repair" a daemon by replacing its underlying file?

Posted: 2020/06/30 17:23:51
by thd_4250
lightman47 wrote:
2020/06/30 17:18:44
CentOS 8 "flavor"?

That said, I've recovered a few times with "dnf reinstall \*.\*". It takes while because it re-installs everything. Then reboot. No guarantees.
I am very new to Linux OS, pardon the faux pas! Meant to say distro I reckon. ^^

But ok, will look into the command you suggested, cheers!

Re: Is it possible to "repair" a daemon by replacing its underlying file?

Posted: 2020/06/30 17:34:25
by lightman47
Ah!!!! I've done 'reinstall' a couple times way back after I got brave and changed permissions of system stuff so I could get to it (DON'T!). A package re-install will reset permissions for that package's 'system' files. My instructions will re-install ALL packages.

Hopefully this saves you a 'start over',

Re: Is it possible to "repair" a daemon by replacing its underlying file?

Posted: 2020/06/30 19:51:38
by TrevorH
Since this appears to be some sort of "appliance", do you even have root access to it to be able to fix problems like this?