Centos 8 Installation - Security Policy

Issues related to applications and software problems and general support
jflanakin

Centos 8 Installation - Security Policy

Post by jflanakin » 2020/05/11 05:20:35

Hi all! This is my first post and I've been struggling with this for several hours, so I apologise if it seems disorganized.

I'm an IT student and using CentOS as a way to study for RHCSA/CE and want to ensure that I understand the installation process and security policies fully. However, the installation documentation doesn't match the actual installation process.
From the Installation Summary window, click Security Policy. The Security Policy window opens.
To enable security policies on the system, toggle the Apply security policy switch to ON.
Select one of the profiles listed in the top pane.
Click Select profile.
Click Change content to use a custom profile. A separate window opens allowing you to enter a URL for valid security content.
Click Fetch to retrieve the URL.
Click Use SCAP Security Guide to return to the Security Policy window.
Click Done to apply the settings and return to the Installation Summary window.
asfd.jpg
asfd.jpg (45.69 KiB) Viewed 3039 times
It doesn't matter what you put in the address box, everything is invalid content. Before you ask, network is fully configured. No difference between NAT and bridged modes in virtualbox, and I can set network time and add additional repositories via a mirrorlist to the installation source just fine.

I'm unsure of how to implement this after the installation.

Code: Select all

ls /usr/share/xml/scap/ssg/content/
doesn't show any ssg-centos8 files. Trying to verify the security policy with

oscap xccdf eval --profile ospp /usr/share/xml/scap/ssg/content/ssg-rhel8-xccdf.xml
just shows the following, with "not applicable" all the way down.
fdsa.jpg
fdsa.jpg (43.73 KiB) Viewed 3039 times