Network dropping, Centos freezes, reboot to restore, repeat

Issues related to applications and software problems and general support
mjz

Network dropping, Centos freezes, reboot to restore, repeat

Post by mjz » 2020/02/20 23:09:08

I am new to Centos.

It has been working fine for about a week, but today I noticed I can't maintain an FTP connection for more than a few minutes when the network freezes, drops, and Centos then freezes and I have to do a manual reset. Each time, I get a new IP address (DHCP) assigned. This has never happened before. My router maintains the mac address's and always reassigns the same IP address, but not anymore with this issue.

Would someone point me to the logs I can check to see what is going on? I may have a hardware problem (network card)? It boots up fine, runs normally for 10 minutes or so then hangs.

(I work with the system using SSH on a remote machine. When the hang occurs, I go to the computer room and connect a monitor to the VGA port and it's blank - keyboard/mouse no response forcing a reset. Upon resetting, monitor comes up as normal.)

TrevorH
Forum Moderator

Re: Network dropping, Centos freezes, reboot to restore, repeat

Post by TrevorH » 2020/02/21 01:15:06

What's the output from lspci -nn | grep -i net ?
CentOS 6 died in November 2020 - migrate to a new version!
Info for USB installs on http://wiki.centos.org/HowTos/InstallFromUSBkey
CentOS 5 is dead, do not use it.
Full time Geek, part time moderator. Use the FAQ Luke

mjz

Post by mjz » 2020/02/21 16:17:35

05:00.0 Ethernet controller [0200]: Intel Corporation 80003ES2LAN Gigabit Ethernet Controller (Copper) [8086:1096] (rev 01)
05:00.1 Ethernet controller [0200]: Intel Corporation 80003ES2LAN Gigabit Ethernet Controller (Copper) [8086:1096] (rev 01)

mjz

Post by mjz » 2020/02/21 16:29:09