rc.local question

Issues related to applications and software problems and general support
edwardsmarkf
Posts: 32
Joined: 2012/07/06 23:57:24

rc.local question

Post by edwardsmarkf » 2020/01/15 18:09:17

perhaps this is a stupid question, but when i did:

Code: Select all

systemctl status rc-local ;
i got back a "condition failed -- ConditionFileIsExecutable=/etc/rc.d/rc.local was not met" message.

so then i did:

Code: Select all

chmod +x  /etc/rc.d/rc.local ; 
systemctl start rc-local ; 
systemctl status rc-local ;
and the process started successfully.

my question: does this matter anymore? i didn't think the rc.local stuff was even doing anything anymore.

btw - a very special thank-you to Trevor for consistently helping me and answering my newbie questions.
Last edited by edwardsmarkf on 2020/01/15 18:20:03, edited 1 time in total.

lightman47
Posts: 1061
Joined: 2014/05/21 20:16:00
Location: Central New York, USA

Re: rc.local question

Post by lightman47 » 2020/01/15 18:19:46

I don't get the same results on my CentOS 8 machine with your initial command:

Code: Select all

systemctl status rc-local ;
● rc-local.service - /etc/rc.d/rc.local Compatibility
   Loaded: loaded (/usr/lib/systemd/system/rc-local.service; static; vendor pre>
   Active: inactive (dead)
     Docs: man:systemd-rc-local-generator(8)
Is the service "enable"d so it may start at boot?
Remember - importing/building packages will likely "byte you in the butt" come update time, long after you'd forgotten you did that! Use repos whenever possible.

edwardsmarkf
Posts: 32
Joined: 2012/07/06 23:57:24

Re: rc.local question

Post by edwardsmarkf » 2020/01/15 18:22:58

lightman47 wrote:
2020/01/15 18:19:46
I don't get the same results on my CentOS 8 machine with your initial command:

Code: Select all

systemctl status rc-local ;
● rc-local.service - /etc/rc.d/rc.local Compatibility
   Loaded: loaded (/usr/lib/systemd/system/rc-local.service; static; vendor pre>
   Active: inactive (dead)
     Docs: man:systemd-rc-local-generator(8)
please do:

Code: Select all

ls -l /etc/rc.d/rc.local ;
& let me know what you see.

EDIT: by any chance did you chmod the original values? also, mine looks like this:
# systemctl status rc-local
● rc-local.service - /etc/rc.d/rc.local Compatibility
Loaded: loaded (/usr/lib/systemd/system/rc-local.service; static; vendor preset: disabled)
Active: active (exited) since Wed 2020-01-15 18:03:02 UTC; 22min ago
Docs: man:systemd-rc-local-generator(8)
Process: 3764 ExecStart=/etc/rc.d/rc.local start (code=exited, status=0/SUCCESS)

Jan 15 18:03:02 cent0s-8 systemd[1]: Starting /etc/rc.d/rc.local Compatibility...
Jan 15 18:03:02 cent0s-8 rc.local[3764]: mkdir: created directory '/var/lock/bash'
Jan 15 18:03:02 cent0s-8 systemd[1]: Started /etc/rc.d/rc.local Compatibility.
i am still wondering if this even matters anymore?
Last edited by edwardsmarkf on 2020/01/15 18:26:04, edited 1 time in total.

lightman47
Posts: 1061
Joined: 2014/05/21 20:16:00
Location: Central New York, USA

Re: rc.local question

Post by lightman47 » 2020/01/15 18:25:20

As requested

Code: Select all

ls -l /etc/rc.d/rc.local ;
-rw-r--r--. 1 root root 474 Jul  1  2019 /etc/rc.d/rc.local
No.
Remember - importing/building packages will likely "byte you in the butt" come update time, long after you'd forgotten you did that! Use repos whenever possible.

edwardsmarkf
Posts: 32
Joined: 2012/07/06 23:57:24

Re: rc.local question

Post by edwardsmarkf » 2020/01/15 18:27:29

lightman47 wrote:
2020/01/15 18:25:20
As requested

Code: Select all

ls -l /etc/rc.d/rc.local ;
-rw-r--r--. 1 root root 474 Jul  1  2019 /etc/rc.d/rc.local
ha! sorry we are posting over eachother! :D :D notice your says "Active: inactive (dead)" while mine now says active.

but again, i am wondering if this even matters anymore?

lightman47
Posts: 1061
Joined: 2014/05/21 20:16:00
Location: Central New York, USA

Re: rc.local question

Post by lightman47 » 2020/01/15 18:33:13

I'm not qualified to say - but let me run the commands on a second C8 machine on the network.
Remember - importing/building packages will likely "byte you in the butt" come update time, long after you'd forgotten you did that! Use repos whenever possible.

lightman47
Posts: 1061
Joined: 2014/05/21 20:16:00
Location: Central New York, USA

Re: rc.local question

Post by lightman47 » 2020/01/15 18:38:07

OK - results identical to first machine. Again, I can't tell you if it matters or not but I suspect something on yours has been edited/adjusted.

I'm running the default CentOS 8 (updated weekly) Gnome install on hardware machine(s) by the way, if that matters.
Remember - importing/building packages will likely "byte you in the butt" come update time, long after you'd forgotten you did that! Use repos whenever possible.

edwardsmarkf
Posts: 32
Joined: 2012/07/06 23:57:24

Re: rc.local question

Post by edwardsmarkf » 2020/01/15 18:44:18

lightman47 wrote:
2020/01/15 18:38:07
OK - results identical to first machine. Again, I can't tell you if it matters or not but I suspect something on yours has been edited/adjusted.

I'm running the default CentOS 8 (updated weekly) Gnome install on hardware machine(s) by the way, if that matters.
thank you very much lightman - i installed a couple of C8's - one on VirtualBox and the other on google-cloud, and neither started up rc.local correctly.

its an easy fix for sure, but i should think the exec would be the default (??)

lightman47
Posts: 1061
Joined: 2014/05/21 20:16:00
Location: Central New York, USA

Re: rc.local question

Post by lightman47 » 2020/01/15 18:47:32

AHHHH! Hang on - I have a VB installation I can check. Let me fire it up.
Remember - importing/building packages will likely "byte you in the butt" come update time, long after you'd forgotten you did that! Use repos whenever possible.

lightman47
Posts: 1061
Joined: 2014/05/21 20:16:00
Location: Central New York, USA

Re: rc.local question

Post by lightman47 » 2020/01/15 19:02:38

My VM shows the same results as my hardware machines.

First thing I'd do is to check the install media itself. It took me 3 downloads to get a good install image. Do BOTH the checksum comparison on the download, then run the media test during the install. I don't know WHY the errors in "successful" downloads.
Hope this helps.
Remember - importing/building packages will likely "byte you in the butt" come update time, long after you'd forgotten you did that! Use repos whenever possible.

Post Reply

Return to “CentOS 8 - General Support”