Accessing Buffalo NAS

Issues related to applications and software problems and general support
Post Reply
jjrowan
Posts: 130
Joined: 2005/09/10 13:07:15
Contact:

Accessing Buffalo NAS

Post by jjrowan » 2019/12/30 14:33:22

I recently installed CentOS 8 on Sony Vaio laptop. I had copied files off the Vaio to a Buffalo 4TB NAS prior to removing CentOS 7 from the Vaio in preparation for 8. Now that 8 is running I can't access the Buffalo device. I tried mounting it with the command
mount -t cifs //192.168.3.62/users /mnt/buffalo -o username=
which worked on 7 but I get error saying
mount: bad option; for several filesystems (e.g. nfs,cifs) you might need a /sbin/mount.<type> helper program.

There is no /sbin/mount.cifs on this install. Any suggestions on how I can mount this NAS?

BShT
Posts: 166
Joined: 2019/10/09 12:31:40

Re: Accessing Buffalo NAS

Post by BShT » 2019/12/30 14:50:45

dnf provides cifs-utils

jjrowan
Posts: 130
Joined: 2005/09/10 13:07:15
Contact:

Re: Accessing Buffalo NAS

Post by jjrowan » 2019/12/30 21:10:12

I installed cifs-utils which solved the original problem but now after being prompted for and entering my password it fails with "mount error(112) host is down" error. I'm connected to the NAS on a Windows 10 laptop so I know it's not down.

jjrowan
Posts: 130
Joined: 2005/09/10 13:07:15
Contact:

Re: Accessing Buffalo NAS

Post by jjrowan » 2019/12/30 23:22:15

Saw on another forum someone had similar problem. Another user suggested appending ,vers=2.0 to the mount command line. Tried that but had same host down error. Changed to vers=1.0 and was able to mount the NAS.

User avatar
KernelOops
Posts: 206
Joined: 2013/12/18 15:04:03
Location: xfs file system

Re: Accessing Buffalo NAS

Post by KernelOops » 2019/12/31 08:42:02

version 1 is just garbage and due to security risks it has been deprecated in favour of newer versions, most things these days run version 3 of the smb/cifs protocol.

I have never used a bufflo NAS (I prefer Synology NAS or custom solutions), but I suggest you look into updating it to a newer version. As far as I know, everyone has moved to version 3, so if your NAS requires version 1, there is something wrong.
--
I love my computer - all my friends live there.
--

Post Reply

Return to “CentOS 8 - General Support”