Network installation fails (Closest mirror)

Issues related to applications and software problems and general support
Post Reply
foxb
Posts: 1924
Joined: 2006/04/20 19:03:33
Location: Montreal/QC

Network installation fails (Closest mirror)

Post by foxb » 2019/09/25 15:09:06

When I use default option closest mirror installation cannot download metadata (probably wrong URL).
Is that a bug in the installer?

Setting up URL manually (http option) works.

dreael
Posts: 2
Joined: 2018/08/14 16:24:36

Re: Network installation fails (Closest mirror)

Post by dreael » 2019/09/25 15:33:58

I just tested this brand new release using the CentOS-8-x86_64-1905-boot.iso file on our Hyper-V plattform as a guest system.

The secret: You need to provide the URL path where the repodata folder is located. See this screenshot:

http://beilagen.dreael.ch/Diverses/Cent ... uswahl.png

I used a Swiss mirror for example:

http://mirror.init7.net/centos/8/BaseOS/x86_64/os/

The CentOS installer will look for

http://mirror.init7.net/centos/8/BaseOS ... repomd.xml

inside.

foxb
Posts: 1924
Joined: 2006/04/20 19:03:33
Location: Montreal/QC

Re: Network installation fails (Closest mirror)

Post by foxb » 2019/09/26 17:30:15

As already mentioned entering URL works.

If you choose closest mirror option it does not.

tony_down_under
Posts: 81
Joined: 2019/08/07 01:50:24
Location: Perth, Australia but originally from Carshalton, Surrey

Re: Network installation fails (Closest mirror)

Post by tony_down_under » 2019/09/27 06:04:46

I just posted something similar to this. Yes, closest mirror does not work but if I specify the url, it does not work either. I just tried your exact repo url and the same error of "error setting up base repo"

EDIT:: I can get the url to work, I needed to change the drop down to "repo url" from what it was set as default.

eddiener
Posts: 120
Joined: 2009/08/18 18:50:42

Re: Network installation fails (Closest mirror)

Post by eddiener » 2019/10/02 00:44:31

What URL can I use in the United States. I also encountered this bug in the Boost ISO install. Also do I need to choose http, https, ftp, or whatever ?

Post Reply

Return to “CentOS 8 - General Support”