Operating system backup - HELP

Support for security such as Firewalls and securing linux
whitewolf73

Operating system backup - HELP

Post by whitewolf73 » 2021/10/27 16:36:35

Hi guys, this is my first post in the Linux Centos forum and unfortunately I'm not a Linux expert as you, so I ask you a little patience if I say some inaccuracies.

First of all I greet the whole community :)

My need is to be able to make a backup of the server on which my site is located to avoid problems due to system crashes.
The server on which my site is hosted is physically located from my provider, so it is REMOTE and non-local server, but a USB 32GB Pendrive is installed on it, so I would like to backup them inside.

The problem is that, working with PUTTY from ssh, I can't do anything that requires graphical interface, but EVERYTHING MUST BE DONE VIA THE TERMINAL.

After copying the image via FTP, I will have to burn a self-starting image on the pendrive with a system partition cloning program so that, in case of crash, I can start the system from Pendrive and restore the image.

Clonezilla I fear is not possible in text mode. I thought to use dd but I don't think a program that copies the byte byte disc is practiced, I also need the pendrive to be self-starting.

Or I ask if you know a Linux Live distribution that works only under Terminal and containing textual disaster recovery software.

Any good soul can help me?

Thanks to everyone :D

tunk

Re: Operating system backup - HELP

Post by tunk » 2021/10/27 17:27:38

I seem to remember that you can boot Gparted Live in terminal mode.

TrevorH
Site Admin

Post by TrevorH » 2021/10/27 19:12:36