connecting two servers acroos wifi router

Issues related to configuring your network
Post Reply
wall_545
Posts: 5
Joined: 2020/09/18 12:42:36

connecting two servers acroos wifi router

Post by wall_545 » 2020/09/18 15:10:33

Hi, i have two laptops each one with centos 7, connected to a router by wifi.
First L1
gateway: 192.168.190.2

Code: Select all

Destination     Gateway         Genmask         Flags Metric Ref    Use Iface
default            gateway         0.0.0.0            UG    100    0        0 ens33
192.168.190.0   0.0.0.0         255.255.255.0   U     100    0        0 ens33
Second L2
gateway: 192.168.5.2
Destination     Gateway         Genmask         Flags Metric Ref    Use Iface
default            gateway         0.0.0.0            UG    100    0        0 ens33
192.168.5.0     0.0.0.0          255.255.255.0    U      100    0        0 ens33
no firewall in boith centos

both have ping to router. 192.168.1.1, but cannot ping from L1 to L2 or L2 to L1, the question is, which n route is needed to add, or is necessary to create a bridge or vlan by Network Connections or what, thanks

User avatar
TrevorH
Forum Moderator
Posts: 29719
Joined: 2009/09/24 10:40:56
Location: Brighton, UK

Re: connecting two servers acroos wifi router

Post by TrevorH » 2020/09/18 16:42:46

Why are your laptops on totally different subnets?
CentOS 6 will die in November 2020 - migrate sooner rather than later!
Info for USB installs on http://wiki.centos.org/HowTos/InstallFromUSBkey
CentOS 5 is dead, do not use it.
Full time Geek, part time moderator. Use the FAQ Luke

wall_545
Posts: 5
Joined: 2020/09/18 12:42:36

Re: connecting two servers acroos wifi router

Post by wall_545 » 2020/09/18 17:07:44

i don't know, i only connected each one to wifi, that's it

User avatar
TrevorH
Forum Moderator
Posts: 29719
Joined: 2009/09/24 10:40:56
Location: Brighton, UK

Re: connecting two servers acroos wifi router

Post by TrevorH » 2020/09/18 17:15:59

Are they obtaining their ip address information via DHCP or did you set it up with static (fixed) ip addresses?

Also, I just spotted that your interface name on both is called ens33 and that is not a wireless interface name, it's a wired one.
CentOS 6 will die in November 2020 - migrate sooner rather than later!
Info for USB installs on http://wiki.centos.org/HowTos/InstallFromUSBkey
CentOS 5 is dead, do not use it.
Full time Geek, part time moderator. Use the FAQ Luke

wall_545
Posts: 5
Joined: 2020/09/18 12:42:36

Re: connecting two servers acroos wifi router

Post by wall_545 » 2020/09/18 17:45:48

i forgot to say that both L1 and L2 are vmware VM's, ens33 is the default device, as static or as dhcp the behaviour is the same, no ping between them, i tried to assign, static ip's in both in the same sublan, but nothing, same behaviour, i'm not secure if i must change anything in the wifi router or add some route or virtual card.

User avatar
TrevorH
Forum Moderator
Posts: 29719
Joined: 2009/09/24 10:40:56
Location: Brighton, UK

Re: connecting two servers acroos wifi router

Post by TrevorH » 2020/09/18 17:50:42

Start again and this time describe the actual setup.
CentOS 6 will die in November 2020 - migrate sooner rather than later!
Info for USB installs on http://wiki.centos.org/HowTos/InstallFromUSBkey
CentOS 5 is dead, do not use it.
Full time Geek, part time moderator. Use the FAQ Luke

wall_545
Posts: 5
Joined: 2020/09/18 12:42:36

Re: connecting two servers acroos wifi router

Post by wall_545 » 2020/09/18 17:55:02

the setup is the same L1 and L2, both are VM's
First L1:
Destination Gateway Genmask Flags Metric Ref Use Iface
default gateway 0.0.0.0 UG 100 0 0 ens33
192.168.190.0 0.0.0.0 255.255.255.0 U 100 0 0 ens33

Second L2:
gateway: 192.168.5.2
Destination Gateway Genmask Flags Metric Ref Use Iface
default gateway 0.0.0.0 UG 100 0 0 ens33
192.168.5.0 0.0.0.0 255.255.255.0 U 100 0 0 ens33

wall_545
Posts: 5
Joined: 2020/09/18 12:42:36

Re: connecting two servers acroos wifi router

Post by wall_545 » 2020/09/18 18:18:06

i found the answer, setting both cards in mode bridged, it works, thanks 8-)

Post Reply

Return to “CentOS 7 - Networking Support”