[Solved] firewall-cmd port already in use

Issues related to configuring your network
Post Reply
hje
Posts: 6
Joined: 2019/02/10 08:54:53

[Solved] firewall-cmd port already in use

Post by hje » 2020/01/12 16:22:32

Hi everybody,

I installed Oracle 12.2 on CentOS but now that I try to configure the Listener I always get the message that port 1521 is already in use. The last time I installed Oracle everything worked fine (CentOS 7.5 I think), but now with CentOS 7.7.1908 I can't get it to work. What settings am I missing or configuring wrong?
netca error message
netca error message
netca-fehler.PNG (12.11 KiB) Viewed 258 times
firewall settings
firewall settings
firewall-konfig.PNG (73.97 KiB) Viewed 258 times
Last edited by hje on 2020/01/26 12:17:20, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
jlehtone
Posts: 2531
Joined: 2007/12/11 08:17:33
Location: Finland

Re: firewall-cmd port already in use

Post by jlehtone » 2020/01/12 20:21:58

hje wrote:
2020/01/12 16:22:32
port 1521 is already in use
As in: "Some other running process does listen port 1521."

That is not a firewall issue.


Who does listen that port?

Code: Select all

sudo ss -tulpn | grep 1521

hje
Posts: 6
Joined: 2019/02/10 08:54:53

Re: firewall-cmd port already in use

Post by hje » 2020/01/13 18:33:50

Already tried that, just forgotten to say so:

Code: Select all

# netstat -tulnp
Aktive Internetverbindungen (Nur Server)
Proto Recv-Q Send-Q Local Address           Foreign Address         State       PID/Program name
tcp        0      0 127.0.0.1:25            0.0.0.0:*               LISTEN      1867/master
tcp        0      0 0.0.0.0:22              0.0.0.0:*               LISTEN      1440/sshd
tcp6       0      0 ::1:25                  :::*                    LISTEN      1867/master
tcp6       0      0 127.0.0.1:9918          :::*                    LISTEN      1129/java
tcp6       0      0 127.0.0.1:12115         :::*                    LISTEN      1129/java
tcp6       0      0 :::22                   :::*                    LISTEN      1440/sshd
udp        0      0 0.0.0.0:68              0.0.0.0:*                           1223/dhclient
udp        0      0 127.0.0.1:323           0.0.0.0:*                           953/chronyd
udp6       0      0 ::1:323                 :::*                                953/chronyd

Code: Select all

# ss -nutlp
Netid State      Recv-Q Send-Q                Local Address:Port      Peer Address:Port
udp   UNCONN     0      0                                 *:68                   *:*         users:(("dhclient",pid=1223,fd=6))
udp   UNCONN     0      0                         127.0.0.1:323                  *:*         users:(("chronyd",pid=953,fd=5))
udp   UNCONN     0      0                             [::1]:323               [::]:*         users:(("chronyd",pid=953,fd=6))
tcp   LISTEN     0      100                       127.0.0.1:25                   *:*         users:(("master",pid=1867,fd=13))
tcp   LISTEN     0      128                               *:22                   *:*         users:(("sshd",pid=1440,fd=3))
tcp   LISTEN     0      100                           [::1]:25                [::]:*         users:(("master",pid=1867,fd=14))
tcp   LISTEN     0      5                [::ffff:127.0.0.1]:9918              [::]:*         users:(("java",pid=1129,fd=32))
tcp   LISTEN     0      5                [::ffff:127.0.0.1]:12115             [::]:*         users:(("java",pid=1129,fd=30))
tcp   LISTEN     0      128                            [::]:22                [::]:*         users:(("sshd",pid=1440,fd=4))

hje
Posts: 6
Joined: 2019/02/10 08:54:53

Re: firewall-cmd port already in use

Post by hje » 2020/01/13 21:53:33

So I found the error thanks to another poor student having the same problem. I had to add the ip and hostname to /etc/hosts

Post Reply

Return to “CentOS 7 - Networking Support”