Network vs NetworkManager -- Best Practices?

Issues related to configuring your network
tycoonbob

Network vs NetworkManager -- Best Practices?

Post by tycoonbob » 2014/07/31 15:37:38

Hi all.

I'm somewhat new to the Linux world, and have been working a lot with RHEL 6.x and Centos 6.x. In EL6 I always used the Network service, and avoided NetworkManager but I've never really understand why they both exist. It seems a lot of people would rather disable NM and just use Network, but I'm wondering if that is the wrong thing to do. With EL7, I'm looking to spend a lot more time properly learning to use Linux the right way, so I am redocumenting my normal build and want to do things the right way. 99% of my CentOS 7 build will be minimal installs (no desktop) virtual machines with a single NIC, running under Hyper-V on Server 2012 R2 (Generation 2 VM).

So I guess here are my questions:
1) What is the difference/purpose of Network and NetworkManager?
2) Would the proper (i.e., best practice) thing be to keep Network disabled and configure NetworkManager via nmcli for static IPs?
3) Are network scripts used with NetworkManager too?

I kinda get the feeling that NetworkManager isn't used if you have a simple networking setup (single NIC, static IP, etc). I'm just looking for some clarification.

Thanks!

gerald_clark

Re: Network vs NetworkManager -- Best Practices?

Post by gerald_clark » 2014/07/31 15:53:52

NetworkManager still does not properly support bridging, so if you are going to run virtual machines, turn it off.
The only time I have found NetworkManager useful was when I was using wireless.

tycoonbob

Post by tycoonbob » 2014/07/31 16:20:16

I'll only be running CentOS 7 as a guest VM, and not as a host so I won't be needing any network bridges.

I just started reading the RHEL network guide, and according to this:
https://access.redhat.com/documentation ... ripts.html