rndc command is not working on my server

Issues related to hardware problems
Post Reply
Dunner1991
Posts: 1
Joined: 2020/09/24 19:23:07

rndc command is not working on my server

Post by Dunner1991 » 2020/09/24 19:32:00

Hi All, while I am not new to linux I am by no means an Admin and I have recently begun to tackle the bind suite of tools.

I have 4 servers which act as DNS servers for our customers. Each server has bind installed.

Recently I have come across an issue where ip netns exec gi (using namespaces to separate DNS from mgmt traffic) rndc reload/status/querylog does not work on one of the servers while it works on the other servers.

I do not mean It returns an error code, it simply does nothing.

[root@server ]# ip netns exec gi rndc reload
[root@server ]# ip netns exec gi rndc status
[root@server ]# ip netns exec gi rndc querylog
[root@server ]#

I do not believe it is related to namespaces as if i run

[root@server]# rndc reload
[root@server]#

i get the same

I have been trying multiple ways to get it to work but I do not succeed, has anyone run into the same issue or know any ways around this

User avatar
TrevorH
Forum Moderator
Posts: 29719
Joined: 2009/09/24 10:40:56
Location: Brighton, UK

Re: rndc command is not working on my server

Post by TrevorH » 2020/09/25 16:22:05

rndc talks to 127.0.0.1:953. Is it listening on that port?
CentOS 6 will die in November 2020 - migrate sooner rather than later!
Info for USB installs on http://wiki.centos.org/HowTos/InstallFromUSBkey
CentOS 5 is dead, do not use it.
Full time Geek, part time moderator. Use the FAQ Luke

Post Reply

Return to “CentOS 7 - Hardware Support”