Setting primary display on a dual display setup

Issues related to hardware problems
Post Reply
galapogos
Posts: 17
Joined: 2014/08/25 09:58:43

Setting primary display on a dual display setup

Post by galapogos » 2014/08/29 03:29:13

Hi,

I have 2 monitors on a dual display setup - one connected via VGA and another connected via DVI. Right now CentOS thinks the VGA one is the primary, but I want the DVI one to be primary. How do I do that?

Thanks.

pvanos
Posts: 5
Joined: 2015/01/26 08:56:27

Re: Setting primary display on a dual display setup

Post by pvanos » 2015/01/26 09:23:59

As I experienced the same problem, but no answer was yet given:
You may have to install xrandr first.
Then :
xrandr --> shows a list of the display names detected. One of them is marked as 'connected primary'.
In my case it returned :
  • VGA1 connected primary 1920x1080+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 477mm x 268mm
    HDMI1 connected 1680x1050+1929+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 474mm x 296mm
xrandr --output HDMI1 --primary
The primary display changes instantly.

pvanos
Posts: 5
Joined: 2015/01/26 08:56:27

Re: Setting primary display on a dual display setup

Post by pvanos » 2015/01/28 13:35:11

Today, I found out it's even far more easy when using GNOME :
System Tools -> Settings -> (Hardware) Displays
You will notice 2 displays, each identified with a different colour.
On top of one of them, there is a little black bar.
Just drag it to the other screen, and hit [Apply]

Done!

Post Reply

Return to “CentOS 7 - Hardware Support”