CentOS 7 on HP ProLiant BL460c

Issues related to hardware problems
Post Reply
jhochfeld
Posts: 1
Joined: 2014/08/21 09:45:26

CentOS 7 on HP ProLiant BL460c

Post by jhochfeld » 2014/08/21 09:51:31

Hi,

i have a problem installing CentOS 7 on a blade in our HP c7000 Blade Center. It's a HP ProLiant BL460c Gen7 Blade. The Setup does not recognize any harddisk or RAID controller.

Is this a known problem? Are there any workarounds or do i have to stick to the old RHL 5?

Kind Regards,
jhochfeld

User avatar
TrevorH
Site Admin
Posts: 33163
Joined: 2009/09/24 10:40:56
Location: Brighton, UK

Re: CentOS 7 on HP ProLiant BL460c

Post by TrevorH » 2014/08/21 11:31:43

CentOS & has removed the older cciss kernel module that was used for older Smart Array controllers. You can either stick with CentOS 6 which is supported until 2020 or you can try an undocumented workaround and pass 'hpsa.hpsa_allow_any=1' to the installer kernel and possibly 'hpsa.hpsa_simple_mode=1'. These parameters might let you get installed and then you could use the ELRepo kmod-cciss to get the correct module. You'll probably need to pause the install before you hit the reboot button and manually edit the installed system's grub.cfg and add those parameters manually prior to the first boot.

viewtopic.php?f=49&t=47011
The future appears to be RHEL or Debian. I think I'm going Debian.
Info for USB installs on http://wiki.centos.org/HowTos/InstallFromUSBkey
CentOS 5 and 6 are deadest, do not use them.
Use the FAQ Luke

lightman47
Posts: 1508
Joined: 2014/05/21 20:16:00
Location: Central New York, USA

Re: CentOS 7 on HP ProLiant BL460c

Post by lightman47 » 2014/09/07 16:59:55

Thanks to you all for this conversation and links - am about to start on my HP ProLiant DL380 G5. Here's hoping all goes well as it will be over-writing my solid working 6.5 installation. :D

lightman47
Posts: 1508
Joined: 2014/05/21 20:16:00
Location: Central New York, USA

Re: CentOS 7 on HP ProLiant BL460c

Post by lightman47 » 2014/09/13 15:14:37

Trevor's two inserts (boot and grub file) worked perfectly for me (ProLiant DL380 G5, I believe - it's upstairs and I am not).

Thanks.

Post Reply