Page 1 of 1

What we have here is a failure to communicate

Posted: 2020/07/30 18:29:32
by Ramon F. Herrera
What I am trying to accomplish can be designated as heart/brain surgery, cojoined twins sort of stuff. In this case of Apache and PHP.

Recap: My goal is to overcome this error message:

http://jfknumbers-forum.org/forums/

I made a HUGE mistake attempting to build Apache from source. I said: "How hard can it be? ./configure, make, make install".

Famous last words: long story short, the VPS had to be re-OSd. It seems that I managed to kill systemctl.

Now I need to put together:

(a) Apache from yum
(b) PHP from SCL (thanks again!!)

Here's the deal: when you install Apache via yum, it looks for the *official* PHP.

From my spanking new VPS:

http://jfknumbers-forum.org/testicle.php

I need to ask: what is the nature of Apache-PHP communication? I checked all the files under /etc/httpd and found this:

A Module is Being Loaded.png
A Module is Being Loaded.png (64 KiB) Viewed 222 times

There's where I got stuck.

-Ramon
JFK Numbers

Re: What we have here is a failure to communicate

Posted: 2020/07/30 22:56:44
by Ramon F. Herrera
I found a possible solution here:

https://www.tutorialspoint.com/php7/php ... ration.htm

Code: Select all

LoadModule php7_module modules/mod_php.so
I seems that my problem is that Apache installed via Yum was not built with the option to generate the module mod_php.so

So I am back to square one: Will I have to build Apache from source and specify that I need to include support for PHP 7??

Here's another option:

https://www.linode.com/docs/web-servers ... and-nginx/

-Ramon
JFK Numbers

Re: What we have here is a failure to communicate

Posted: 2020/07/31 00:10:15
by TrevorH
You should probably be installing php-fpm and pointing apache httpd to that instead of trying to use mod_php.

Re: What we have here is a failure to communicate

Posted: 2020/07/31 00:15:14
by Ramon F. Herrera
TrevorH wrote:
2020/07/31 00:10:15
You should probably be installing php-fpm and pointing apache httpd to that instead of trying to use mod_php.
It definitely seems like a portable solution, so you guys don't see me here every year:

"I need to connect Apache with PHP 7!"
"I need to connect Apache with PHP 8!"
"I need to connect Apache with PHP 9!"
"I need to connect Apache with PHP 10!"
"I need to connect Apache with PHP 11!"

The fact that this very forum is based on the same software (phpBB) that I am planning to install, is certainly reassuring.

Thanks!

-Ramon
JFK Numbers