How to Add Cinnamon 2 Desktop to CentOS 7 Minimal Install

Issues related to applications and software problems
Post Reply
ITI
Posts: 23
Joined: 2014/02/26 20:19:38
Location: Canada
Contact:

How to Add Cinnamon 2 Desktop to CentOS 7 Minimal Install

Post by ITI » 2014/10/11 22:43:56

I see there has been some discussion on how to add a graphical desktop to a Centos 7 Minimal Install.
This is how I added the Cinnamon 2 Desktop.

[Optional]
First, if you have an "everything" USB or DVD you will probably want to access it to speed things up.
To mount a DVD or USB
1. [root@localhost ~]$ mkdir /mnt/local
2a. A USB
[root@localhost ~]$ mount /dev/sdb1 /mnt/local
2b. A DVD
[root@localhost ~]$ mount /dev/cdrom /mnt/local
3. Create a local repo file
[root@localhost ~]$ vi /etc/yum.repos.d/local.repo
Insert key, then add the following:
[Local-Media]
name=Local Repository
baseurl=file:///mnt/local
enabled=1
gpgcheck=1
gpgkey=file:///etc/pki/rpm-gpg/RPM-GPG-KEY-CentOS-7
4. Save and close the file. esc key then ":wq" enter.

Add Cinnamon 2 Desktop packages
1. [root@localhost ~]$ yum install epel-release
2. [root@localhost ~]$ yum groupinstall "X Window System"
3. [root@localhost ~]$ yum install cinnamon gdm liberation* gnome-terminal gnome-icon-theme-legacy.noarch
4. [root@localhost ~]$ echo "exec /usr/bin/cinnamon-session" >> ~/.xinitrc
5. [root@localhost ~]$ ln -s /lib/systemd/system/runlevel5.target /etc/systemd/system/default.target
6. [root@localhost ~]$ yum update
7. [root@localhost ~]$ reboot

Additional packages that might interest you.
1. [root@localhost ~]$ yum install firefox filezilla gedit gnome-packagekit gnome-system-monitor

If you are done with your USB/DVD disable the local repository
1. Remove USB or DVD
2. [root@localhost ~]$ vi /etc/yum.repos.d/local.repo
enabled=0
3. [root@localhost ~]$ yum clean all
Glen

renatotec
Posts: 1
Joined: 2014/12/01 13:53:16

Re: How to Add Cinnamon 2 Desktop to CentOS 7 Minimal Instal

Post by renatotec » 2014/12/01 13:56:08

Great advice, I'm starting to like CentOS as a Desktop again! Thanks

xinloiemnham
Posts: 5
Joined: 2014/11/14 09:31:57

Re: How to Add Cinnamon 2 Desktop to CentOS 7 Minimal Instal

Post by xinloiemnham » 2014/12/10 04:33:08

thanks, great tut.
But after boot-up to the desktop session, it said that Cinnamon is running in software rendering mode that may observe much higher than normal cpu usage.
Any further suggestion?

ITI
Posts: 23
Joined: 2014/02/26 20:19:38
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: How to Add Cinnamon 2 Desktop to CentOS 7 Minimal Instal

Post by ITI » 2014/12/18 22:19:40

xinloiemnham wrote:thanks, great tut.
But after boot-up to the desktop session, it said that Cinnamon is running in software rendering mode that may observe much higher than normal cpu usage.
Any further suggestion?
I guess I missed the notification that you had posted a question. Sorry for the delay in my response.

I never got the message "Running in Software Mode" when I loaded it while on the physical linux box.
I did get it when I logged in remotely via a vnc connection. I wasn't able to solve it on a remote connection.
I did however find it annoying.

Prior to logging in there is an option to select "Software rendering". I assume you are selecting the regular one.
I've been installing and looking at some alternatives and don't have cinnamon installed at the moment so I can't be much help.
Glen

User avatar
TrevorH
Forum Moderator
Posts: 29662
Joined: 2009/09/24 10:40:56
Location: Brighton, UK

Re: How to Add Cinnamon 2 Desktop to CentOS 7 Minimal Instal

Post by TrevorH » 2014/12/22 09:38:56

MATE uses far less RAM here. I have it on CentOS 7 on an 8GB machine and it reports 6.9GB used as file cache, 500MB used for programs and the rest free.
CentOS 6 will die in November 2020 - migrate sooner rather than later!
Info for USB installs on http://wiki.centos.org/HowTos/InstallFromUSBkey
CentOS 5 is dead, do not use it.
Full time Geek, part time moderator. Use the FAQ Luke

Post Reply

Return to “CentOS 7 - Software Support”