how to upgrade to rpm-4.13

Issues related to applications and software problems
Post Reply
LMHmedchem
Posts: 40
Joined: 2011/03/22 17:32:25
Location: Boston

how to upgrade to rpm-4.13

Post by LMHmedchem » 2023/01/15 19:04:09

Hello,

I would like to upgrade to rpm 4.13 if that is possible. I tried downloading the rpm file from here

https://cbs.centos.org/kojifiles/packag ... x86_64.rpm

I tried to install this through Yum Extender but I get a dependency resolution failed error.

Code: Select all

Dependency Resolution Errors:

Package: rpm-python-4.11.3-48.el7_9.x86_64 (@updates)
    Requires: rpm = 4.11.3-48.el7_9
    Removing: rpm-4.11.3-48.el7_9.x86_64 (@updates)
        rpm = 4.11.3-48.el7_9
    Updated By: rpm-4.13.0.2-1.el7.c8.x86_64 (/rpm-4.13.0.2-1.el7.c8.x86_64)
        rpm = 4.13.0.2-1.el7.c8
    Available: rpm-4.11.3-45.el7.x86_64 (base)
        rpm = 4.11.3-45.el7
    Available: rpm-4.11.3-46.el7_9.x86_64 (updates)
        rpm = 4.11.3-46.el7_9Package: rpm-build-4.11.3-48.el7_9.x86_64 (@updates)
    Requires: rpm = 4.11.3-48.el7_9
    Removing: rpm-4.11.3-48.el7_9.x86_64 (@updates)
        rpm = 4.11.3-48.el7_9
    Updated By: rpm-4.13.0.2-1.el7.c8.x86_64 (/rpm-4.13.0.2-1.el7.c8.x86_64)
        rpm = 4.13.0.2-1.el7.c8
    Available: rpm-4.11.3-45.el7.x86_64 (base)
        rpm = 4.11.3-45.el7
    Available: rpm-4.11.3-46.el7_9.x86_64 (updates)
        rpm = 4.11.3-46.el7_9Package: rpm-devel-4.11.3-48.el7_9.x86_64 (@updates)
    Requires: rpm = 4.11.3-48.el7_9
    Removing: rpm-4.11.3-48.el7_9.x86_64 (@updates)
        rpm = 4.11.3-48.el7_9
    Updated By: rpm-4.13.0.2-1.el7.c8.x86_64 (/rpm-4.13.0.2-1.el7.c8.x86_64)
        rpm = 4.13.0.2-1.el7.c8
    Available: rpm-4.11.3-45.el7.x86_64 (base)
        rpm = 4.11.3-45.el7
    Available: rpm-4.11.3-46.el7_9.x86_64 (updates)
        rpm = 4.11.3-46.el7_9Package: rpm-libs-4.11.3-48.el7_9.x86_64 (@updates)
    Requires: rpm = 4.11.3-48.el7_9
    Removing: rpm-4.11.3-48.el7_9.x86_64 (@updates)
        rpm = 4.11.3-48.el7_9
    Updated By: rpm-4.13.0.2-1.el7.c8.x86_64 (/rpm-4.13.0.2-1.el7.c8.x86_64)
        rpm = 4.13.0.2-1.el7.c8
    Available: rpm-4.11.3-45.el7.x86_64 (base)
        rpm = 4.11.3-45.el7
    Available: rpm-4.11.3-46.el7_9.x86_64 (updates)
        rpm = 4.11.3-46.el7_9
I don't see anything in this output that tells me where the install failed and how to resolve the issue.

Is the operation I am attempting possible if I get the dependencies right? Can anyone suggest what to do next?

LMHmedchem

User avatar
TrevorH
Site Admin
Posts: 32524
Joined: 2009/09/24 10:40:56
Location: Brighton, UK

Re: how to upgrade to rpm-4.13

Post by TrevorH » 2023/01/15 19:17:00

You definitely should not even try to upgrade rpm. If you are attempting to install something that says it wants a newer rpm then that package is the one that should not be installed. It means it is designed to run on a newer version of CentOS than you have and thus is the wrong one. You need to find a version of the package you are trying to install that is designed to run on CentOS 7, not randomly upgrade essential system packages.
CentOS 8 died a premature death at the end of 2021 - migrate to Rocky/Alma/OEL/Springdale ASAP.
Info for USB installs on http://wiki.centos.org/HowTos/InstallFromUSBkey
CentOS 5 and 6 are dead, do not use them.
Use the FAQ Luke

LMHmedchem
Posts: 40
Joined: 2011/03/22 17:32:25
Location: Boston

Re: how to upgrade to rpm-4.13

Post by LMHmedchem » 2023/01/15 20:33:29

The error I was running into with the install resulted from the rpm .spec file using the "or" operator when checking for dependencies and apparently this operator is not supported until rpm-4.13. This caused the install to fail at the dependency check since the operator was not recognized. I thought that this was a relatively minor issue. There is no guarantee that if the install is able to run past this point that there will not be other issues that arise.

I am in contact with the developers to find a version that has been better checked on CentOS 7 but I thought I would run down the possibility of upgrading rpm as a workaround.

Thanks,

LMHmedchem

Post Reply