Python giving wrong FQDN

Issues related to applications and software problems
User avatar
TrevorH
Forum Moderator
Posts: 31930
Joined: 2009/09/24 10:40:56
Location: Brighton, UK

Re: Python giving wrong FQDN

Post by TrevorH » 2021/07/13 16:59:57

You can have multiple lines in /etc/hosts that name the same ip address and it will match on any of them. It should be noted that the syntax of hosts lines is

ip-address f.q.d.n alias1 alias2 aliasN
CentOS 8 died a premature death at the end of 2021 - migrate to Rocky/Alma/OEL/Springdale ASAP.
Info for USB installs on http://wiki.centos.org/HowTos/InstallFromUSBkey
CentOS 5 and 6 are dead, do not use them.
Use the FAQ Luke

pjsr2
Posts: 606
Joined: 2014/03/27 20:11:07

Re: Python giving wrong FQDN

Post by pjsr2 » 2021/07/13 20:48:52

You could call her "fred.localdomain"
Appendix G of RFC 6762 ( https://datatracker.ietf.org/doc/html/r ... appendix-G ) recommends use of one of of the following top level domain names:
  • .intranet.
  • .internal.
  • .private.
  • .corp.
  • .home.
  • .lan.

Post Reply