dual booting w windows 10 -now linux is missing

General support questions
User avatar
TrevorH
Site Admin
Posts: 33265
Joined: 2009/09/24 10:40:56
Location: Brighton, UK

Re: dual booting w windows 10 -now linux is missing

Post by TrevorH » 2023/05/12 09:20:52

I'd just change the BIOS order so the _other_ disk is first then try and reboot it. If it works then it works, if it doesn't then you can just change the boot order back.

https://support.hp.com/in-en/document/i ... 2337914-16 might be of use
The future appears to be RHEL or Debian. I think I'm going Debian.
Info for USB installs on http://wiki.centos.org/HowTos/InstallFromUSBkey
CentOS 5 and 6 are deadest, do not use them.
Use the FAQ Luke

tunk
Posts: 1215
Joined: 2017/02/22 15:08:17

Re: dual booting w windows 10 -now linux is missing

Post by tunk » 2023/05/12 10:23:18

Or if that doesn't work, try to swap the sata-cables on the motherboard (or disks).
Don't know how this will affect your windows boot.

owl102
Posts: 413
Joined: 2014/06/10 19:13:41

Re: dual booting w windows 10 -now linux is missing

Post by owl102 » 2023/05/12 18:16:35

tunk wrote:
2023/05/12 10:23:18
Or if that doesn't work, try to swap the sata-cables on the motherboard (or disks).
Don't know how this will affect your windows boot.
I guess it will so I would not try it.

Your BIOS is showing two hard drives (from the same vendor and the same model), so it should be possible to boot from the 2nd drive and also to tell the BIOS to boot from the other "ST 1000DM003-1SB102" hard drive.

Another thing you could do: Since you don't need MS-Windows just disconnect the first hard drive from SATA. If you are not sure which hard drive contains MS-Windows and which contains Linux, just connect only one drive and try it out. If MS-Windows gets booted, Linux is on the other one.
German speaking forum for Fedora and CentOS: https://www.fedoraforum.de/

tmm
Posts: 9
Joined: 2023/05/04 06:57:46

Re: dual booting w windows 10 -now linux is missing

Post by tmm » 2023/05/14 09:35:37

Hi

Thanks for all the help and feedback.

I got it up and running by pushing up the 2nd disk in the BIOS. -There is NO difference in the look of the BIOS menu, since the 2 disks are labeled exactly the same...

Seems fine now.

FYI, for others (if there could be others in my situation :):
1) I had to use a "normal" USB keyboard to be able to access the BIOS and then initiate a reboot (the other one listed below couldn't do the F10 stuff there, although F10 works great once we're all booted up).
2) Then, quickly, pull that USB out, and connect up the PS2 keyboard that the BIOS needs to see in order to choose that disk.
-This i possibly what these old HP Z8xx workstations require. But, they sure are nice and can do massive number crunching and imaging stuff on the cheap :)

Thanks heaps again,
TMM

Post Reply