Adding administrators to "wheel" group to use sudo issues

General support questions
TypoSpotter

Adding administrators to "wheel" group to use sudo issues

Post by TypoSpotter » 2021/10/21 13:35:24

Hi,
Our company has a number of Centos (7) and Ubuntu servers. We have a full-time system administrator, who has a Windows background and not much Linux experience, and myself, who is a Mechanical Engineer by profession, but the person in the company who understands Linux the most. There was someone before me who set up our system, but he is no longer available.

A security certificate we are trying to obtain has a requirement that system administrators each use their own password rather than use a shared password (i.e. the root account). The best solution to me would be to add administrators to the "wheel" group in Centos and the "sudoers" group in Ubuntu. All user accounts are on a Samba AD controller, and the /home directories of all users are on a NFS. I have added myself and the other administrator to the wheel group, but I seem to only be able to use sudo successfully on some of our Centos servers and not others. For the servers where it doesn't work, the password is considered incorrect, so I get the "sorry, try again" message twice then "sudo: 3 incorrect password attempts".

What I have noticed is that the servers on which sudo does not work also do not allow password authentication for ssh logins. We usually use rsa key authentication so this is not an issue, but it does make me wonder if the two observations are linked. I also have another interesting observation: on the servers for which sudo does not work I get the "we trust you have received the usual lecture from the local System Administrator..." message before the password prompt, but on the servers where sudo does work I get no message.

Any ideas on what to check? I think I could possibly look at how they interact with Samba AD, or how root is setup.

TrevorH
Site Admin