Set Clock to External Clock Source

General support questions
Post Reply
bchang32
Posts: 3
Joined: 2020/03/16 15:00:24

Set Clock to External Clock Source

Post by bchang32 » 2020/03/16 15:26:01

Hello,

I am new to CentOS but am trying to get my computer to take in an external 80 MHz clock and run off of that. Is there any way to do this/is it possible?

Any guidance would greatly be appreciated

tunk
Posts: 676
Joined: 2017/02/22 15:08:17

Re: Set Clock to External Clock Source

Post by tunk » 2020/03/16 15:42:21

More info, please.

bchang32
Posts: 3
Joined: 2020/03/16 15:00:24

Re: Set Clock to External Clock Source

Post by bchang32 » 2020/03/16 15:58:29

I have a PC running CENTOS 7 that can take in an 80 MHz signal. I want it to take in the 80 MHz signal and have the system itself run/synchronize off that.

Is there a specific detail you need? Sorry, this is all new to me

User avatar
TrevorH
Forum Moderator
Posts: 28084
Joined: 2009/09/24 10:40:56
Location: Brighton, UK

Re: Set Clock to External Clock Source

Post by TrevorH » 2020/03/16 16:11:42

It would probably be better if you knew the exact device type and model of whatever it is that you're connection and how it is connected (USB? Serial? photon beam?)
CentOS 6 will die in November 2020 - migrate sooner rather than later!
Info for USB installs on http://wiki.centos.org/HowTos/InstallFromUSBkey
CentOS 5 is dead, do not use it.
Full time Geek, part time moderator. Use the FAQ Luke

bchang32
Posts: 3
Joined: 2020/03/16 15:00:24

Re: Set Clock to External Clock Source

Post by bchang32 » 2020/03/16 17:03:49

TrevorH wrote:
2020/03/16 16:11:42
It would probably be better if you knew the exact device type and model of whatever it is that you're connection and how it is connected (USB? Serial? photon beam?)
I believe the device's processor is a Intel(R) Xeon(R) Silver 4214 CPU. It will probably be connected via a Discrete line (so just high/low).

afewgoodman
Posts: 66
Joined: 2019/12/11 03:51:58

Re: Set Clock to External Clock Source

Post by afewgoodman » 2020/03/17 08:17:17

Hi,

I don't understand what you mean.
Do your main board have clock port can be taken external clock source? Or you mean remove internal clock source or disable it then, take external source?

BR.

User avatar
TrevorH
Forum Moderator
Posts: 28084
Joined: 2009/09/24 10:40:56
Location: Brighton, UK

Re: Set Clock to External Clock Source

Post by TrevorH » 2020/03/17 11:58:50

I believe the device's processor is a Intel(R) Xeon(R) Silver 4214 CPU
This sounds very odd. That's a server processor and external clock sources are normally tiny devices like GPS units.
CentOS 6 will die in November 2020 - migrate sooner rather than later!
Info for USB installs on http://wiki.centos.org/HowTos/InstallFromUSBkey
CentOS 5 is dead, do not use it.
Full time Geek, part time moderator. Use the FAQ Luke

desertcat
Posts: 718
Joined: 2014/08/07 02:17:29
Location: Tucson, AZ

Re: Set Clock to External Clock Source

Post by desertcat » 2020/03/18 11:40:33

bchang32 wrote:
2020/03/16 15:58:29
I have a PC running CENTOS 7 that can take in an 80 MHz signal. I want it to take in the 80 MHz signal and have the system itself run/synchronize off that.

Is there a specific detail you need? Sorry, this is all new to me
Just as a curiosity, why don't you run ntpd? it is a collection of clocks that produces a far more exact time than a single clock. Unless you own an atomic clock you are going to be facing drift. Have you thought of setting up a single master time server and then reference the rest of your network to your master time server?

Post Reply

Return to “CentOS 7 - General Support”