Grub Command Line. Fixing a Broken MBR

General support questions
dirkxxvi

Grub Command Line. Fixing a Broken MBR

Post by dirkxxvi » 2014/09/04 04:17:51

I'm currently studying for the RHCSA exam and one of the things thats really freaking me out at the moment is the previous grub bash commands (ie pressing c at the grub boot menu) I learned to fix a broken MBR are no longer working.

On CentOS6 I was able to run the following to get the desired results
grub -> root
grub-> setup (hd0)

However now on CentOS 7 I get
grub -> root
error - can't find command 'root'
grub-> setup (hd0)
error - can't find command 'setup'

The farthest I've gotten is
grub-> ls
(proc) (hd0) (hd0,msdos2) (hd0,msdos1)

I can generate a list of possible commands by pressing tab twice but they're all unfamiliar and I have had little luck finding anything resembling man pages to explain them.

I'd really like to know what to search for to at least research documentation because every search I get on Grub commands seems to point me to the commands that I was originally taught, and that in turn apparently don't work anymore.

WhatsHisName

Re: Grub Command Line. Fixing a Broken MBR

Post by WhatsHisName » 2014/09/04 05:26:45

EL7 uses grub2, not legacy grub.

RHEL Grub2

Fedora Grub2

GNU Grub2

Happy reading.

dirkxxvi

Re: Grub Command Line. Fixing a Broken MBR

Post by dirkxxvi » 2014/09/05 03:25:03

WhatsHisName wrote:EL7 uses grub2, not legacy grub.

RHEL Grub2

Fedora Grub2

GNU Grub2

Happy reading.
Thank you the materials helped a ton. It seemed virtually every command and instruction manual I was finding was written for legacy grub.