Why not take a break?

Having issues using the CentOS WebSite? Then describe your problem(s) here. Please include details of your platform (Linux, Mac, Windows) and browser -- not forgetting the versions of each.
User avatar
TrevorH
Forum Moderator
Posts: 29961
Joined: 2009/09/24 10:40:56
Location: Brighton, UK

Why not take a break?

Post by TrevorH » 2011/08/11 23:09:14

For some time now I've been wondering what happens to some of my replies to forum postings. I reply to topics and later see other replies from other people and the posting that I made is missing. Tonight I finally realised what's happening - there is apparently some stupid code in the system that stops one from replying too frequently - tonight I noticed that the "Thanks for your submission" page that comes up was not actually saying that - looks superficially similar but actually says something along the lines of "Why not take a break?". It then nukes your post - it isn't there if you go backwards nor is it there if you wait and let it take you to the next page (which it doesn't do so you have to press the link that says "click here").

1) Is there some way to stop it from doing this - it's extremely annoying!
2) Can the message it puts out be a bit more obviously different - like bright red for example!
3) Can it save the contents of the message you just laboriously typed out.

User avatar
toracat
Forum Moderator
Posts: 7453
Joined: 2006/09/03 16:37:24
Location: California, US
Contact:

Re: Why not take a break?

Post by toracat » 2011/08/12 00:43:51

That's more than annoying. :-(

Has not happened to me but I'm not posting as frequently as you are. :-) How long has this been occurring?

User avatar
AlanBartlett
Forum Moderator
Posts: 9325
Joined: 2007/10/22 11:30:09
Location: ~/Earth/UK/England/Suffolk
Contact:

Re: Why not take a break?

Post by AlanBartlett » 2011/08/12 01:38:46

Huh? :-o I've never seen anything like that. :-? I guess the person we need to ask is our "champion" poster, [b]pschaff[/b]. :roll:

[b]Phil[/b], have you experienced anything like that which [b]Trevor[/b] has just reported? [img]http://www.centos.toracat.org/ajb/tmp/hmmm.gif[/img]

User avatar
TrevorH
Forum Moderator
Posts: 29961
Joined: 2009/09/24 10:40:56
Location: Brighton, UK

Re: Why not take a break?

Post by TrevorH » 2011/08/12 08:43:13

Happened again to me this morning - usually on posts that just require a single sentence reply so are quick to type.

gerald_clark
Posts: 10642
Joined: 2005/08/05 15:19:54
Location: Northern Illinois, USA

Why not take a break?

Post by gerald_clark » 2011/08/12 13:45:48

I have been having ocassional missing replies for years.

pschaff
Retired Moderator
Posts: 18276
Joined: 2006/12/13 20:15:34
Location: Tidewater, Virginia, North America
Contact:

Re: Why not take a break?

Post by pschaff » 2011/08/12 20:47:02

[quote]
AlanBartlett wrote:
Huh? :-o I've never seen anything like that. :-? I guess the person we need to ask is our "champion" poster, [b]pschaff[/b]. :roll:

[b]Phil[/b], have you experienced anything like that which [b]Trevor[/b] has just reported? [img]http://www.centos.toracat.org/ajb/tmp/hmmm.gif[/img][/quote]
There have been a handful of times I have thought I had posted, but later did not see the post when returning to the thread. I always attributed it to wetware malfunction but perhaps there is an underlying issue. Another possibility is that my problems were wetware malfunctions and that moderators are not victim to the limitation.

User avatar
TrevorH
Forum Moderator
Posts: 29961
Joined: 2009/09/24 10:40:56
Location: Brighton, UK

Re: Why not take a break?

Post by TrevorH » 2011/08/12 23:02:50

I found the relevant code online in newbb/post.php where it checks a variable set in the xoops config file called post_timelimit against the elapsed time since your last post. If post_timelimit is the larger of the two then it throws everything away and gets patronising :-)

Oh, and yes, it only does that check for mere mortals not for moderators - or at least in the version that I found which is not necessarily what this forum is using. :oops: ;-)

User avatar
toracat
Forum Moderator
Posts: 7453
Joined: 2006/09/03 16:37:24
Location: California, US
Contact:

Re: Why not take a break?

Post by toracat » 2011/08/13 00:32:39

I wonder if that timelimit thing has to do with spam/bot prevention...

User avatar
TrevorH
Forum Moderator
Posts: 29961
Joined: 2009/09/24 10:40:56
Location: Brighton, UK

Re: Why not take a break?

Post by TrevorH » 2011/08/13 01:29:00

I'm sure that is the purpose of it. Unfortunately it's badly implemented in that the message looks superficially similar to the "Success" version and then proceeds to be most unuserfriendly by discarding what you tried to post.

foxb
Posts: 1927
Joined: 2006/04/20 19:03:33
Location: Montreal/QC

Re: Why not take a break?

Post by foxb » 2011/08/15 15:38:03

It happens to me too (if you post within a minute if I'm correct).

I suspect that it is implemented to avoid SPAM bots, but the message is too similar to successful message it toke me few times until I realize it.

Post Reply

Return to “Website Problems”