Performance issues with CentOS and VPC 2007

If it doesn't fit in another category, ask it here.
MrDHB

Post by MrDHB » 2008/03/16 16:30:31

Hi, I'm a CentOS and Linux newbie so please bear with me!

I have successfully installed/configured CentOS 4.6 On my home laptop using virtual PC 2007. I'm a Windows user traditionally, but want to try Linux and teach myself some new skills. Although it does work, it is almost unusuable due to performance, for instance if i try to move the mouse cursor accross the screen, it takes between 2 and 6 seconds to respond, and then the mouse jumps accross the screen from A to B instantly. This lag was also present while i was installing the OS. I installed via text and not the GUI, and even when selecting language and keyboard layout via the keyboard, it was very laggy and took 5 or 6 seconds to respond to keystrokes. I also tried installing CentOS 5 and the same lag was present during set up / installation. (i don't know what happens after that as i can't actually get version 5 to boot, but i'll save that for another time). The lag is present 95% of the time, but every now and again the mouse seems to kick in and i will get a real time response for 2 or 3 seconds before the lag returns. I'm assuming that the problem is my hardware? Am i asking too much? or maybe theres a driver or fix for this? I have tried closing all non essential programs + services and i'm monitoring the task manager, CPU and memory is not maxed out so i'm not sure whats going on?

The laptop is a Dell Inspiron 1520 running Vista (32 bit), 1.86 Ghz with 1 Gig of RAM, plenty of HDD space. Just a standard out the box build with all the crap ripped off, AOL, google, DELL rubbish

I have tried playing about with the VPC settings, i have varied RAM size from 128MB to 512MB (and several in between), i have increased and reduced the VDD from 6Gig to 16Gig (and a few in between) but nothings working, it is still extremly slow and unresponsive.