Page 1 of 1

Kernel Still Won't Boot on AMD64

Posted: 2007/01/20 09:33:07
by newcosguy
I don't have the error line at the moment but I'll try and dig through my old posts and find it.

I'm wondering if anyone using the same or similar setup is having this issue and got around it?

Thanks


Ever since this kernel "kernel-2.6.9-42.0.2.EL" I haven't been able to boot. So I'm using Centos 4.4 with kernel "2.6.9-34.0.2.EL" :(
CPU: AMD Sempron(tm) Processor 2600+ stepping 02



00:00.0 Host bridge: nVidia Corporation nForce3 250Gb Host Bridge (rev a1)
00:01.0 ISA bridge: nVidia Corporation nForce3 250Gb LPC Bridge (rev a2)
00:01.1 SMBus: nVidia Corporation nForce 250Gb PCI System Management (rev a1)
00:02.0 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation CK8S USB Controller (rev a1)
00:02.1 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation CK8S USB Controller (rev a1)
00:02.2 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation nForce3 EHCI USB 2.0 Controller (rev a2)
00:05.0 Ethernet controller: nVidia Corporation CK8S Ethernet Controller (rev a2)
00:06.0 Multimedia audio controller: nVidia Corporation nForce3 250Gb AC'97 Audio Controller (rev a1)
00:08.0 IDE interface: nVidia Corporation CK8S Parallel ATA Controller (v2.5) (rev a2)
00:0a.0 IDE interface: nVidia Corporation CK8S Serial ATA Controller (v2.5) (rev a2)
00:0b.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation nForce3 250Gb AGP Host to PCI Bridge (rev a2)
00:0e.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation nForce3 250Gb PCI-to-PCI Bridge (rev a2)
00:18.0 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] HyperTransport Technology Configuration
00:18.1 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] Address Map
00:18.2 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] DRAM Controller
00:18.3 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] Miscellaneous Control
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation NV17 [GeForce4 MX 440] (rev a3)
02:09.0 Ethernet controller: Linksys NC100 Network Everywhere Fast Ethernet 10/100 (rev 11)

Re: Kernel Still Won't Boot on AMD64

Posted: 2007/01/20 09:36:52
by newcosguy
Here is my original thread and so far no one has been able to figure it out :(
http://www.centos.org/modules/newbb/viewtopic.php?topic_id=5676&forum=27&post_id=16880#forumpost16880

Kernel Still Won't Boot on AMD64

Posted: 2007/01/20 14:49:55
by Lenard
Two suggestions:

One: try the CentOSplus kernel; http://isoredirect.centos.org/centos/4.4/centosplus/x86_64/RPMS/

Two: build your own, download the latest kernel source rpm and extract prep build install. I and others have provided directions on how to do this here at this website, try it.

Re: Kernel Still Won't Boot on AMD64

Posted: 2007/01/20 19:08:03
by newcosguy
Thanks Lenard I will try that!
What is the difference between the plus and do you have any idea why yum doesn't seem to be good at showing it as an option when doing yum search kernel or yum install kernel or yum update kernel?

Re: Kernel Still Won't Boot on AMD64

Posted: 2007/01/20 19:56:10
by Lenard
Depends on your /etc/yum.repos.d/CentOS-Base.repo file which should be the same as the one found here;

http://isoredirect.centos.org/centos/4.4/

You can try for example; yum install kernel-2.6.9-42.0.3.plus.c4.x86_64

But nothing is stopping you from installing the old fashioned way;

rpm -ivh http://isoredirect.centos.org/centos/4.4/centosplus/x86_64/RPMS/kernel-2.6.9-42.0.3.plus.c4.x86_64.rpm

It is a good idea that you have a fast Internet connection (ISDN or xDSL or better) for this.

Re: Kernel Still Won't Boot on AMD64

Posted: 2007/01/20 20:32:49
by newcosguy
Hi Lenard,

I'm familiar with installing kernels so it was no problem. Actually this new kernel works perfectly!
Searching with yum with the base repo it still never found that kernel. I can get the same numbers but
plus isn't shown if I search.

I just wish the RPM manager would make it easier to tell if you have installed an X64 or i386 kernel :)


Thanks for pointing out that kernel though. It is still kind of frustrating to have this problem and I still wonder
why the original x64 kernel won't boot. I guess X64 computing has its kinks :(

Re: Kernel Still Won't Boot on AMD64

Posted: 2007/01/21 19:06:19
by Lenard
Use rpm to report more information then;

rpm -qa --qf="%{n}-%{v}-%{r}.%{arch}n" 'kernel*' | sort

$ rpm -qa --qf="%{n}-%{v}-%{r}.%{arch}\n" 'kernel*' | sort
kernel-2.6.19-1.2912.fc7.x86_64
kernel-2.6.20rc5-1.x86_64
kernel-devel-2.6.19-1.2912.fc7.x86_64
kernel-headers-2.6.19-1.2912.fc7.x86_64

Of course uname-a helps out also;

]$ uname -a
Linux Aspire5000 2.6.20-rc5 #6 Sat Jan 20 10:46:32 EST 2007 x86_64 x86_64 x86_64 GNU/Linux

And in case your wondering why my kernel versions are what they are;

[lenard@Aspire5000 ~]$ cat /etc/*release
Red Hat Enterprise Linux Client release 4.92 (Tikanga)

Re: Kernel Still Won't Boot on AMD64

Posted: 2007/01/24 09:05:54
by newcosguy
Thanks Lenard awesome !