How can I have more than one site in 1 Server

Support for webhosts that use CentOS
Post Reply
naruponk
Posts: 21
Joined: 2006/12/12 02:47:21
Contact:

How can I have more than one site in 1 Server

Post by naruponk » 2007/05/11 06:47:50

Hi, all

I'm newbie and just installed CentOS4.4.
I can use default HTTP site as http://localhost
But if I would like to run more than one site on this server
What I need to do? How to set HTTP server?

Thanks for advance

User avatar
WhatsHisName
Posts: 1547
Joined: 2005/12/19 20:21:43
Location: /earth/usa/nj

How can I have more than one site in 1 Server

Post by WhatsHisName » 2007/05/11 11:53:17

Read the excellent [url=http://httpd.apache.org/docs/2.0/vhosts/]Virtual Host[/url] documentation at [url=http://apache.org]apache.org[/url].

naruponk
Posts: 21
Joined: 2006/12/12 02:47:21
Contact:

Re: How can I have more than one site in 1 Server

Post by naruponk » 2007/05/15 08:30:29

Thanks for info.
I can now create VHost but how can I access those VHost?
susspose I have created VHost named as "H1" when I wanna access I must type http://192.168.1.99/H1? :-o
Or http://192.168.1.99:H1 ?

Thanks :-)

foxb
Posts: 1927
Joined: 2006/04/20 19:03:33
Location: Montreal/QC

Re: How can I have more than one site in 1 Server

Post by foxb » 2007/05/15 14:33:20

If you've created name based virtual hosts --> you need to have dns server pointing to your server or modify hosts file.

so if you type http://vhost1.com it must be redirected to your server ip.

As for ip based one is just the ip.

naruponk
Posts: 21
Joined: 2006/12/12 02:47:21
Contact:

Re: How can I have more than one site in 1 Server

Post by naruponk » 2007/05/17 01:45:13

Thanks man :-)

Post Reply

Return to “CentOS 4 - Webhosting Support”