Completely new to linux, a few basic security questions

Support for security such as Firewalls and securing linux
buddylee

Post by buddylee » 2006/03/29 01:32:12

Hello! I'm new to linux and I'm enjoying learing all the fun (and confusing) things I can do.

Anyways, I'm trying to setup a server that can do dns, apache, tomcat and mysql and I'm having some success, but anyways, here are my questions, hopefully you guys can help, I want to have as secure of a machine as possible. (I'm using webmin to help me with some configs btw).

1) Does it matter what account bind, apache, tomcat, etc use to startup?
2) How do I keep the root account from logging in remotely? I want to login under my account and then su to root, no term access for root.
3) Is there a checklist that I can go over to make sure my server doesn't have any glaring holes that I just don't know about?
4) Is there a firewall built in to CentOS and if not, should I get one, and which one?

Thank you very much for any help you can provide!

ixeous

Post by ixeous » 2006/03/29 14:06:36

1) Yes. The primary thing you don't want is for services to run as root. They should use unprivledged accounts. If you use the rpm packages, all of the account stuff is taken care of and you do not need to worry about it.

2) Using ssh (and only ssh) for remote login, you need to modify /etc/ssh/sshd_config. Change the line

#PermitRootLogin yes
to
PermitRootLogin no

I also like to change

#Protocol 2,1
to
Protocol 2

This way your ssh server will not allow the use of the older, vulnerable protocol