Real basic networking-file sharing issue

Issues related to configuring your network
srfii

Real basic networking-file sharing issue

Post by srfii » 2008/04/21 22:26:57

Hello all,
I am a complete linux newbie, and just installed my first linux OS (Centos) this weekend. Had some fun getting drivers and stuff installed for the ethernet card (still need to install my 4965 wireless drivers). Now that I have internet and network connectivity, I tried my hand at getting my linux machine to see my windows server. The problem I have is two fold, but for now I want to focus on on the first.

My linux machine can find the files and folders on the windows server just fine, and as long as the file names are appropriate can open or copy them over. However, any of my folders or files with a space in the name shows up as a %20 symbol by my linux box which then refuses to open the folder or file because the content is deemed unknown (it says I should rename the files if I trust them).

I have installed both samba client and server (SWAT) services though right now I am only running the client. My smb.conf is as follows (from testparm):

[global]
workgroup = SRFWORK_LAN #thats my workgroup
server string = Samba Server Version%
passdb backend = tdbsam
idmap uid = 16777216-33554431
idmap gid = 16777216-33554431
cups options = raw

[homes]
comment = Home Directories
read only = no
browseable = no

[printers]
comment = public staff
path = /home/samba
write list = +staff
read only = no
guest ok = yes

Now I think I have that configured correctly. Something I am struggling with is because of the space character giving me the problems and other files names sharing just fine, I thought I might have a protocol issue. everything is accessed as "smb://".