Page 1 of 1

Issue with changing the hostname

Posted: 2007/11/03 00:29:30
by billgates
Hi everyone,

I have installed CentOS 4.5 as software RAID1. The install was smooth as butter, I've checked the status of the raid and all raid devices are active.
I intend to use this server as a mail server, so I went about changing the hostname from localhost to mail.mydomain.com and out of nowhere my beautiful server went nuts. I cannot open any programs at all (firefox, terminal window, etc) the swirly thing just sits there and swirls until the program gives up trying to open. Now I think to myself... reboot and all will be well... not quite now I get an error that says mail.mydomain.com cannot be found and I get an option to cancel login or try anyway. So I try anyway, still no programs, but I was lucky enough to get the network gui to open and promptly changed the hostname back to localhost and then restarted the network services, now everything is fine.

I checked system mail and I have several messages from mdadm telling me of two raid devices that experienced degradation, the devices contained the boot partition and the / partition. After changing the hostname back to localhost the messages have stopped and the raid reports all devices as active.

So my question is, why can't I change my hostname?

Thanks in advance.

P.S.
If you need more info from me please let me know and I'll do my best to provide it.

Bill Gates

Re: Issue with changing the hostname

Posted: 2007/11/03 01:53:41
by toracat
Edit /etc/sysconfig/network and reboot.

(Edit /etc/hosts as well)

Re: Issue with changing the hostname

Posted: 2007/11/03 06:24:47
by billgates
My RAID was degraded, I had to resync two of my RAID devices :)

Now that that is done do you think I can safely change my hostname with your suggestion of editing those 2 files?

Re: Issue with changing the hostname

Posted: 2007/11/03 06:43:32
by billgates
Yes indeed sir, you are correct... after my degraded raid issue, I was able to change my host name by editing the 2 files you suggested.

Thanks for your help :)

Issue with changing the hostname

Posted: 2007/11/03 20:50:40
by arrfab
[quote]
billgates wrote:
Yes indeed sir ...[/quote]
Ouch, *she* will not appreciate .... :-D