NFS mounting fails at boot on 4.4

Issues related to configuring your network
Post Reply
matt_garman
Posts: 40
Joined: 2006/10/18 14:14:21

NFS mounting fails at boot on 4.4

Post by matt_garman » 2007/02/28 13:39:42

We have three CentOS 4.3 machines and two running 4.4. The machines all share virtually identical configurations. However, the 4.4 machines fail to NFS mount during boot. The mount fails with a ": no route to host" message.

However, if, immediately after boot, I manually issue a "/etc/init.d/netfs start" command, all my NFS shares mount as expected.

Since we have so few machines, we just maintain the same /etc/hosts file across the five boxes.

Has anyone else seen this?

Thank you,
Matt

michaelnel
Posts: 1478
Joined: 2006/05/29 16:50:11
Location: San Francisco, CA

NFS mounting fails at boot on 4.4

Post by michaelnel » 2007/02/28 17:30:18

Sounds to me like your routes aren't getting set up by the time the nfs mounts are attempted, but when you try manually after boot the routes are already in place so the mounts work.

matt_garman
Posts: 40
Joined: 2006/10/18 14:14:21

Re: NFS mounting fails at boot on 4.4

Post by matt_garman » 2007/03/01 13:47:26

At what files should I look to determine why the routing setup takes longer on our 4.4 boxes than our 4.3 boxes? I.e., which config files, and which startup scripts?

mlist
Posts: 4
Joined: 2007/04/02 15:29:39

Re: NFS mounting fails at boot on 4.4

Post by mlist » 2007/04/02 15:41:15

guys,

I have the same problem but I didn't find a solution.
Could someone provide a workaround? I think it is a centos 4.4 bug....

Thanks! :-(

crazytoon
Posts: 1
Joined: 2007/05/11 21:52:00
Contact:

Re: NFS mounting fails at boot on 4.4

Post by crazytoon » 2007/05/11 21:56:14

I had the same problem and posted a solution here:
[url=http://crazytoon.com/2007/05/11/centos-and-redhat-problem-nfs-mount-at-boot-up-fails-with-error-system-error-no-route-to-host/]CentOS mounting problem[/url]

Basically I edited netfs script and added some delay to allow network to come back up. Because this problem, as mentioned above, is caused by network not being up fully when netfs script is ran.

Good luck! Feel free to contact me if you need more help after reading the blog post.

Post Reply

Return to “CentOS 4 - Networking Support”