adding network device

Issues related to configuring your network
Post Reply
nicksabatino
Posts: 2
Joined: 2007/01/17 02:12:52

adding network device

Post by nicksabatino » 2007/01/17 05:58:11

Hi all,

I can see my network device when I use lspci:

[code]
00:11.0 Ethernet Controller: VMware Inc VMware High-Speed Virtual NIC [vmxnet] (rev 10)
[/code]

But when I do an ifconfig, only the loopback shows up? How do I assign this interface to eth0 with dhcp?

Thanks,

-Nick

EDIT:

I geuss I just need to know how to do this:

[url=http://www.redhat.com/docs/manuals/linux/RHL-9-Manual/custom-guide/s1-network-config-ethernet.html]http://www.redhat.com/docs/manuals/linux/RHL-9-Manual/custom-guide/s1-network-config-ethernet.html[/url]

in the command line

pjwelsh
Posts: 2629
Joined: 2007/01/07 02:18:02
Location: Central IL USA

Re: adding network device

Post by pjwelsh » 2007/01/17 13:14:49

Does running "netconfig" help set up the eth device?
If not, give us the output of "ifconfig -a" to see if the system even considers it an network device. Or run system-config-network from gui.
I think there is a GUI way to get the general hardware info (including "unknown" devices) also, but I'm old scholl command line (for servers) and can't remember.

foxb
Posts: 1927
Joined: 2006/04/20 19:03:33
Location: Montreal/QC

adding network device

Post by foxb » 2007/01/17 15:40:59

[quote]
nicksabatino wrote:
Hi all,

I can see my network device when I use lspci:

[code]
00:11.0 Ethernet Controller: VMware Inc VMware High-Speed Virtual NIC [vmxnet] (rev 10)
[/code]

But when I do an ifconfig, only the loopback shows up? How do I assign this interface to eth0 with dhcp?

Thanks,

-Nick

EDIT:

I geuss I just need to know how to do this:

[url=http://www.redhat.com/docs/manuals/linux/RHL-9-Manual/custom-guide/s1-network-config-ethernet.html]http://www.redhat.com/docs/manuals/linux/RHL-9-Manual/custom-guide/s1-network-config-ethernet.html[/url]

in the command line[/quote]

If you running CentOS 4.4 as VMWARE server guest check your virtual machine settings it should be RHEL 4
Vmware emulates amd adapter...

yyagol
Posts: 1015
Joined: 2006/06/10 18:27:44
Location: 32 4′N 34 47′E
Contact:

Re: adding network device

Post by yyagol » 2007/01/17 17:23:04

if you can see the device while runing [b]ifconfig -a[/b]
that mite be a driver problem . you can see if ther are any errors
regarding the net devices by runing [b]dmesg [/b]

[code]
# dmesg |grep eth0
divert: allocating divert_blk for eth0
eth0: RealTek RTL8139 at 0xcc00, 00:0d:61:64:71:1c, IRQ 225
eth0: Identified 8139 chip type 'RTL-8100B/8139D'
eth0: link up, 100Mbps, full-duplex, lpa 0x45E1
[/code]

my device is a RealTek 8139 and the driver for this one is :

[code]
# dmesg |grep Ethernet
8139too Fast Ethernet driver 0.9.27
[/code]

you can look for your driver by listing all available modules supported by CentOS
allready on the machine but you need to know witch 1 is for your device.

[code]
# modprobe -l |grep 'drivers/net'
[/code]

or just google to find out what is your devices driver (module)

Post Reply

Return to “CentOS 4 - Networking Support”