Page 1 of 1

GA-M61P-S3 problem with SATA no longer

Posted: 2007/04/18 02:59:57
by baggins2000
I tried to get a MB which was recommended here, but settled for one with a chipset that was similar to one recommended in an earlier post.

I was not able to get it to see SATA drivers with the standard CENTOS4_4 install. I saw where someone was having problems with the same SATA set as I was downloaded and installed those rpm's. Didn't work. Started looking some more and found a different discussion and found even newer drivers. installed those and they worked just fine.
Ran partprobe and was able to see my SATA drives without even rebooting.

The secret is the version of drivers. There is another set which is 1.11 and it is only good for CENTOS up to 4.3. I saw where another guy was having troubles recently with the same Controller and I bet a nickel to a dime he had downloaded the 1.11 drivers.

http://www.nvidia.com/object/linux_nforce_1.21.html

Okay, now my question. The source is included with the download, so whenever I change/update the kernel I suppose I will have to update/recompile my drivers and I suppose that I need to do that now for the audio because there wasn't an rpm for that. So where do I find the steps for doing that??????? Or what are the steps???

Thanks,
No longer cussing at nvidia and a little more impressed with there driver support. Just wish they had told me how to compile my own.




lspci output

00:00.0 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation MCP61 Memory Controller (rev a1)
00:01.0 ISA bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP61 LPC Bridge (rev a2)
00:01.1 SMBus: nVidia Corporation MCP61 SMBus (rev a2)
00:01.2 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation MCP61 Memory Controller (rev a2)
00:02.0 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation MCP61 USB Controller (rev a2)
00:02.1 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation MCP61 USB Controller (rev a2)
00:04.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP61 PCI bridge (rev a1)
00:05.0 Audio device: nVidia Corporation MCP61 High Definition Audio (rev a2)
00:06.0 IDE interface: nVidia Corporation MCP61 IDE (rev a2)
00:07.0 Bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP61 Ethernet (rev a2)
00:08.0 IDE interface: nVidia Corporation MCP61 SATA Controller (rev a2)
00:08.1 IDE interface: nVidia Corporation MCP61 SATA Controller (rev a2)
00:09.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP61 PCI Express bridge (rev a2)
00:18.0 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] HyperTra nsport Technology Configuration
00:18.1 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] Address Map
00:18.2 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] DRAM Con troller
00:18.3 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] Miscella neous Control
01:06.0 Mass storage controller: Promise Technology, Inc. 20269 (rev 02)
01:08.0 Ethernet controller: 3Com Corporation 3c905C-TX/TX-M [Tornado] (rev 78)
01:0e.0 FireWire (IEEE 1394): Texas Instruments TSB43AB23 IEEE-1394a-2000 Contro ller (PHY/Link)
02:00.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc RV370 [Sapphire X550 Sil ent]
02:00.1 Display controller: ATI Technologies Inc RV370 secondary [Sapphire X550 Silent]

Re: GA-M61P-S3 problem with SATA no longer

Posted: 2007/04/19 14:32:19
by foxb
You will need to recompile kernel modules every time kernel changes.

But 2.6.9-42 module is allready included.. RTM

Re: GA-M61P-S3 problem with SATA no longer

Posted: 2008/08/07 21:20:53
by modprobe
4.4 says, can find sata during fresh load.
so i click the right button, and it takes me to all all centos modules, i scroll down to the Force 6100 selected ,
painless load.
but the Bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP61 Ethernet (rev a2)
will not load, so I will work that.

lspci shows that it is there.
just need to find proper driver name which in linux can be a challenge.

i will post the solution. to this. later. if there is one.

a simple fix is just plug in a known to work NIC, rtl8169 is a runner. as are others.


the data sheet for the Mobo says realtek 8201 CL , but does not lspci as that. and is enabled in BIOS.

Re: GA-M61P-S3 problem with SATA no longer

Posted: 2008/08/08 12:17:13
by AlanBartlett
[quote]Okay, now my question. The source is included with the download, so whenever I change/update the kernel I suppose I will have to update/recompile my drivers and I suppose that I need to do that now for the audio because there wasn't an rpm for that. So where do I find the steps for doing that??????? Or what are the steps???

Thanks,
No longer cussing at nvidia and a little more impressed with there driver support. Just wish they had told me how to compile my own.[/quote]
As a general hint - http://wiki.centos.org/HowTos/BuildingKernelModules