check SMP functioning allright - HOWTO?

Issues related to hardware problems
Lexje
Posts: 10
Joined: 2006/06/03 15:32:51

Re: check SMP functioning allright - HOWTO?

Post by Lexje » 2006/06/10 05:43:44

Hi Folks,

Thanks a lot for your feed back!
Now at least I know what it should lool like...

This the first time I lay my hands on a DL360...
It took me quite a while to figure out how to get into the bios, as you need to have either the special partition with tools installed, or need to enter via diskette or CD-ROM. Can anyone confirm that the SmartStart CD is bootable?

One thing is for sure:
When Centos originally installs, it enables APIC, but then the system hangs, so I have disabled apic in GRUB's boot parameters.

As for enabling the second CPU:
It is a 1st generation DL360 and doesn't seem to have any control possibility over the CPU's.
Also, during boot the bios shows that 2 Coppermine CPU's ar present....

Thanks a lot,

Erwin

User avatar
WhatsHisName
Posts: 1546
Joined: 2005/12/19 20:21:43
Location: /earth/usa/nj

Re: check SMP functioning allright - HOWTO?

Post by WhatsHisName » 2006/06/11 01:49:34

Having read through the Compaq DL360 manual at the HP site, I now feel your pain.

The term “BIOS” as related to system functions does not even appear in the manual’s index, much less any info about altering cpu functions.

I now understand your difficulty in answering what I might have thought were simple questions. Good luck.

Lexje
Posts: 10
Joined: 2006/06/03 15:32:51

Re: check SMP functioning allright - HOWTO?

Post by Lexje » 2006/06/11 08:13:21

No more pain :-)
For those who might be interested:

DL 360 servers come in different flavours (G1, G2 etc ~ generation)
It would be interesting to learn some more about the functioning of the onboard rom;
Best is to download the appropriate SmartStart CD, burn it to a CD and start the server with it.
Then you can 'normally' access what you need.

For me the problem was even more grave, as most of my distro's come on DVD these days, and the server is only equipped with a CD drive; no problem however, just exchange the CD with a slim type DVD ( I used my laptops) and off you go, if it weren't that my laptop DVD drive will not boot from the SmartStart CD.... :-( OK, let's continue swapping drives...

Then I added a highpoint SATA controller, and took out the SCSI array ctrl, as I don't intend to invest in SCSI drives..

FINALLY, the problem of SMP:
It was KNOPPIX 3.3 that showed me:

MP-BIOS bug: 8254 timer not connected to IO-APIC

Next a quick google showed me to add:
acpi-skip-timer-override to the bootline in GRUB

And that's all there is to it!!

Thanks for all your help and leading the way!!
You guys rock!!

Erwin

showeb
Posts: 1
Joined: 2006/07/12 15:57:49
Contact:

Re: check SMP functioning allright - HOWTO?

Post by showeb » 2006/07/12 16:07:12

Lexje,

I have the same problem you have. I have installed CentOS 4.2 and I added the second cpu after the installation of Centos.
I updated Centos 4.2 to 4.3, but that had no effect.

This is also a DL360 1st generation

Where in grub.conf do I have to add "acpi-skip-timer-override"
I have not much experience in this.

My grub.conf file looks like:

#boot=/dev/ida/c0d0
default=0
timeout=5
splashimage=(hd0,0)/grub/splash.xpm.gz
hiddenmenu
title CentOS (2.6.9-34.0.2.EL)
root (hd0,0)
kernel /vmlinuz-2.6.9-34.0.2.EL ro root=LABEL=/
initrd /initrd-2.6.9-34.0.2.EL.img
title CentOS_ServerCD (2.6.9-22.EL)
root (hd0,0)
kernel /vmlinuz-2.6.9-22.EL ro root=LABEL=/
initrd /initrd-2.6.9-22.EL.img

User avatar
WhatsHisName
Posts: 1546
Joined: 2005/12/19 20:21:43
Location: /earth/usa/nj

Re: check SMP functioning allright - HOWTO?

Post by WhatsHisName » 2006/07/12 21:16:40

showeb: You need to install and boot an SMP kernel to use the second cpu.

[code]# yum install kernel-smp[/code]

ChrisSnow
Posts: 9
Joined: 2009/06/09 14:05:12

Re: check SMP functioning allright - HOWTO?

Post by ChrisSnow » 2009/10/29 18:15:35

I found this thread quite useful with my early dl360 only seeing one CPU.

This is a useful link too... http://www.mcnabbs.org/andrew/linux/proliant/

My mainboard switches all seemed OK, the bios messages at startup showed two CPUs but no Linux distro would see more than CPU0

Ultimately I downloaded the SmartStart 5.50 from here.[url=http://h20000.www2.hp.com/bizsupport/TechSupport/SoftwareDescription.jsp?lang=en&cc=US&swItem=MTX-597d7cb6b45d493285e27c1412&prodTypeId=15351&prodSeriesId=327479]hp.com/bizsupport[/url]

Under one of the server setup options was one that selects Linux as the OS. I had to choose Unix first though before Linux was a choice!

After that all was well with Centos 5.2 and for that matter Ubuntu 9.10 rc too.

Hope this helps someone!

Post Reply

Return to “CentOS 4 - Hardware Support”