check SMP functioning allright - HOWTO?

Issues related to hardware problems
Lexje
Posts: 10
Joined: 2006/06/03 15:32:51

check SMP functioning allright - HOWTO?

Post by Lexje » 2006/06/03 16:12:11

Hi All,

I have a Compaq DL360 with 2 CPU's;
Centos automatically installs APIC, but hangs when booting. When I add noapic while booting the server boots allright. What can I do to solve?

dmesg only seems to show 1 CPU;
How can I check 2 CPU's are running, and how to activate 2nd CPU?

Thanks for your help!!

Erwin

arrfab
Site Admin
Posts: 873
Joined: 2005/01/03 21:30:54
Location: /country/belgium
Contact:

Re: check SMP functioning allright - HOWTO?

Post by arrfab » 2006/06/04 16:59:09

Very strange ...
Have you added the 2nd cpu after the centos install ? Normally CentOS will automatically install and use the smp kernel if it sees a smp box (as in your case).
Is the smp kernel installed on your server and, if it is, is it defined a the default boot entry in grub ?
If you want also to automatically add the noapic parameter at boot time, just modify the grub.conf and add this parameter at the end of the line beginning with kernel

Lexje
Posts: 10
Joined: 2006/06/03 15:32:51

Re: check SMP functioning allright - HOWTO?

Post by Lexje » 2006/06/05 09:28:02

Thanks Arrfab for your help;
As I already posted and got no answer, then I found there was also a section on servers, that's why I reposted, slightly changing the subject hoping to get more / better reaction. Sorry.

As for SMP:
I did not add the CPU later, also during bootup of the machine the bios signals that two CPU's are running at ...
I did a complete new install as I needed CentOS without Selinux.
The install correctly installs smp kernel;
I already added noapic to the boot parameter in grub.conf, so that is allright.
But how can I really check that two CPU's are running?

Normally I don't need X, but to ease on things I installed it, then changed inittab to boot to init 3.
I wonder in System Monitor it should show two CPU's?

dmesg shows me the following:
------------------------------------------------------------------------
mtrr: Serverworks LE detected. Write-combining disabled.
mtrr: your processor doesn't support write-combining
mtrr: Serverworks LE detected. Write-combining disabled.
mtrr: your processor doesn't support write-combining
IA-32 Microcode Update Driver: v1.14
microcode: CPU0 already at revision 0x1 (current=0x1)
microcode: No new microdata for cpu 0
IA-32 Microcode Update Driver v1.14 unregistered
------------------------------------------------------------------------

Thanks for keeping with me.
Erwin
:-)

arrfab
Site Admin
Posts: 873
Joined: 2005/01/03 21:30:54
Location: /country/belgium
Contact:

Re: check SMP functioning allright - HOWTO?

Post by arrfab » 2006/06/05 09:48:08

Can you launch cat /proc/cpuinfo to see the number of processors your kernel is seeing ...
What's the info of uname -a ?

Lexje
Posts: 10
Joined: 2006/06/03 15:32:51

Re: check SMP functioning allright - HOWTO?

Post by Lexje » 2006/06/07 17:44:10

I am checking this with Knoppix now,

root@0[knoppix]# cat /proc/cpuinfo
processor : 0
vendor_id : GenuineIntel
cpu family : 6
model : 8
model name : Pentium III (Coppermine)
stepping : 10
cpu MHz : 997.345
cache size : 256 KB
fdiv_bug : no
hlt_bug : no
f00f_bug : no
coma_bug : no
fpu : yes
fpu_exception : yes
cpuid level : 2
wp : yes
flags : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 mmx fxsr sse
bogomips : 1966.08
--------------------------------------------------------------------------
uname -a gives us.
Linux Knoppix 2.6.12 #2 SMP Tue Aug 9 23:20:52 CEST 2005 i686 GNU/Linux
---------------------------------------------------------------------------
So this seems allright..
But system monitor only shows one cpu....

User avatar
WhatsHisName
Posts: 1546
Joined: 2005/12/19 20:21:43
Location: /earth/usa/nj

Re: check SMP functioning allright - HOWTO?

Post by WhatsHisName » 2006/06/07 20:57:48

The idea was to boot the [b]CentOS-smp kernel[/b] and then: # [b]cat /proc/cpuinfo ; uname -a[/b]

Been a long day, Eh?

Lexje
Posts: 10
Joined: 2006/06/03 15:32:51

Re: check SMP functioning allright - HOWTO?

Post by Lexje » 2006/06/09 18:51:14

And after several long days & nights, the Centos Warrior prevails, puts the SATA RAID ctrl back into place, hooks up the Centos hd, and, tata....
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
[root@centos ~]# cat /proc/cpuinfo
processor : 0
vendor_id : GenuineIntel
cpu family : 6
model : 8
model name : Pentium III (Coppermine)
stepping : 10
cpu MHz : 997.357
cache size : 256 KB
fdiv_bug : no
hlt_bug : no
f00f_bug : no
coma_bug : no
fpu : yes
fpu_exception : yes
cpuid level : 2
wp : yes
flags : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 mmx fxsr sse
bogomips : 1995.79

[root@centos ~]
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
As for uname -a:
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
[root@centos ~]# uname -a
Linux centos.uca-trac.eu 2.6.9-34.0.1.ELsmp #1 SMP Wed May 24 08:14:29 CDT 2006i686 i686 i386 GNU/Linux
[root@centos ~]#
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
What do you suggest?
Recompile kernel?

Thanks for sticking with me :-)

foxb
Posts: 1924
Joined: 2006/04/20 19:03:33
Location: Montreal/QC

Re: check SMP functioning allright - HOWTO?

Post by foxb » 2006/06/09 20:06:37

Here is my output on DL380:
[code]
[xxxx@xxxxx ~]$ cat /proc/cpuinfo
processor : 0
vendor_id : GenuineIntel
cpu family : 6
model : 11
model name : Intel(R) Pentium(R) III CPU family 1400MHz
stepping : 1
cpu MHz : 1391.579
cache size : 512 KB
fdiv_bug : no
hlt_bug : no
f00f_bug : no
coma_bug : no
fpu : yes
fpu_exception : yes
cpuid level : 2
wp : yes
flags : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 mmx fxsr sse
bogomips : 2784.12

processor : 1
vendor_id : GenuineIntel
cpu family : 6
model : 11
model name : Intel(R) Pentium(R) III CPU family 1400MHz
stepping : 1
cpu MHz : 1391.579
cache size : 512 KB
fdiv_bug : no
hlt_bug : no
f00f_bug : no
coma_bug : no
fpu : yes
fpu_exception : yes
cpuid level : 2
wp : yes
flags : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 mmx fxsr sse
bogomips : 2780.92
[/code]
and
[code]
uname -a


Linux xxxxx.xxxxx.local 2.6.9-34.ELsmp #1 SMP Wed Mar 8 00:27:03 CST 2006 i686 i686 i386 GNU/Linux
[/code]

How you install CentOS?
Did you use SmartStart CD?
Are your bios up to date?

Have you disabled something in BIOS/Kernel startup?

Similar problem here:
http://forums1.itrc.hp.com/service/forums/questionanswer.do?threadId=702830

Maybe "apic" is not set properly?

User avatar
WhatsHisName
Posts: 1546
Joined: 2005/12/19 20:21:43
Location: /earth/usa/nj

Re: check SMP functioning allright - HOWTO?

Post by WhatsHisName » 2006/06/09 20:28:11

Sure sounds like a hardware issue.

Was the system previously/recently running a smp OS?

Have you inspected the system BIOS to verify the second cpu is [b]enabled[/b] and properly configured ([b]"normal"[/b])?

The fact that Knoppix didn’t see a second cpu is also a very bad sign. (I just booted an old dual P3 Dell with Knoppix 5.0.1 just to make absolutely sure it would detect them and yes, it did.)

I would open the case, reseat both cpu’s (assuming they are slot-1) and boot it up again. Another suspect would be a bad/missing voltage regulator module, assuming that system uses one/them.

And like foxb suggested, be sure to flash the BIOS to the latest revision.

Lexje
Posts: 10
Joined: 2006/06/03 15:32:51

Re: check SMP functioning allright - HOWTO?

Post by Lexje » 2006/06/10 05:43:44

Hi Folks,

Thanks a lot for your feed back!
Now at least I know what it should lool like...

This the first time I lay my hands on a DL360...
It took me quite a while to figure out how to get into the bios, as you need to have either the special partition with tools installed, or need to enter via diskette or CD-ROM. Can anyone confirm that the SmartStart CD is bootable?

One thing is for sure:
When Centos originally installs, it enables APIC, but then the system hangs, so I have disabled apic in GRUB's boot parameters.

As for enabling the second CPU:
It is a 1st generation DL360 and doesn't seem to have any control possibility over the CPU's.
Also, during boot the bios shows that 2 Coppermine CPU's ar present....

Thanks a lot,

Erwin

Post Reply

Return to “CentOS 4 - Hardware Support”