Page 1 of 1

Travan 20/40 Tape Unit in Dell SC420 Poweredge

Posted: 2005/06/29 17:03:11
by trident
I'm trying to figure out how to get the tape drive that came with my Dell SC420 server
working. Looking at the net, I see some people have had problems and some others have
suggested alternate solutions. However, I haven't gotten it up yet. Suggestions?

Marco

Travan 20/40 Tape Unit in Dell SC420 Poweredge

Posted: 2005/07/02 02:44:53
by kbocek
Have you tried the 'hdx=ide-scsi' kernel parameter route? That's what worked for me under Whitebox3 on one of my servers. I have a dual-boot workstation with one of the drives and CentOS4 installed. It did work with the 'ide-scsi' parameter although I was receiving errors. Share what you find out as I need to figure out the solution too.

Re: Travan 20/40 Tape Unit in Dell SC420 Poweredge

Posted: 2005/07/22 15:02:15
by trident
As you suggested, I added the hdx=ide-scsi line to the kernle line in the grub config file & the appropriate tape devices (ie. st0 & nst0) became available fot use. I haven't seen any errors so far, but I also haven't begun testing the tape drive since a Samba issue has unexpectedly arisen. :(

Re: Travan 20/40 Tape Unit in Dell SC420 Poweredge

Posted: 2005/07/29 23:57:31
by kbocek
Just confimed that ide-scsi still works under 2.6. Built a new Opteron server. Adding [font=Courier]hdb=ide-scsi[/font] to the boot parameters caused the st and nst devices to appear for a Certance 20/40 drive. I discovered that you can also simply type [font=Courier]modprobe ide-scsi[/font] from the command line as well.

I could have sworn that I read *something* was deprecated. Perhaps it was [font=Courier]ide-tape[/font].

Kirk Bocek