GUI 4 Yum

Issues related to software problems
Post Reply
Hutchy
Posts: 5
Joined: 2005/01/23 00:09:46
Location: NSW,Australia

GUI 4 Yum

Post by Hutchy » 2005/06/14 23:18:26

G,Day there ,Just wondering if there is a GUI 4 Yum etc that I can use not 4 installing software but so I have somewhere I can see a total list of packages that yum has available as I find when I use "yum list" that I can only get to see the list as far as the list in "W" instead of all the way to "A" as when I press "page up" to see full list , that it only goes as far as about "W" unless someone knows a better way I can view all the packages yum has in stock as it can just make life easier than going to repo web sites to see whats available,?

dsegall
Posts: 22
Joined: 2005/02/08 18:37:42
Location: All up in it...
Contact:

Re: GUI 4 Yum

Post by dsegall » 2005/06/15 14:31:13

You could try rebuilding the src.rpm of [url=http://cobind.com/yumgui.html]YUMGUI[/url]. It should work the same as it does on FC3. There is an article about it at [url=http://fedoranews.org/tchung/gyum/2.0/]FedoraNEWS[/url]. There is also [url=http://linux.rasmil.dk/cms/modules/wfsection/article.php?articleid=1]YUM EXteneder[/url] which I had tried in the past, and found to be a bit flaky, but they seem to be keeping up on development.

Hutchy
Posts: 5
Joined: 2005/01/23 00:09:46
Location: NSW,Australia

Re: GUI 4 Yum

Post by Hutchy » 2005/06/16 10:31:26

Thanks vey much 4 that, I will definetly look in to that, Also something very strange though ,I used to use Smart Package Manager with Fedora And it became my favourite installation tool, AnyWay did some searching & found there was a version made 4 RedHat Enterprise4 so I instaled it & found it refuses to work with the repositories it comes with preety much, I wouldnt mind finding out a bit more info on using it if I can but have found there doesn't seem to be much help out there at the moment even though its seems to of been available for RedHat Enterprise for a fair while now, must keep seeking I guess, but will look into YUMGUI, I actually tried yumex as well but as soon as It fired up it would disappear of the screen & don't know why? but YUM works Fine which is the man thing.

kairis
Posts: 15
Joined: 2005/06/26 14:25:38
Location: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Contact:

Re: GUI 4 Yum

Post by kairis » 2005/06/26 14:39:41

you can also try synaptic, a nice GUI to manage rpm.

Post Reply

Return to “CentOS 4 - Software Support”