startx won't start

General support questions including new installations
qwertyjjj
Posts: 40
Joined: 2009/12/26 14:18:33

Re: startx won't start

Post by qwertyjjj » 2010/07/20 16:44:33

I tried to change the resolution and when I reconnected, it doesn't show me the menu, also when I minimise the xterm, I can't get it back as I can no longer see the task bar across the bottom.
I changed the res back to the original, but it still doesn't appear. Any ideas?
Reason I asked about the program is that when I close down the VNC and reconnect, none of the windows of the application I was running are there anymore so it must hev been closed?

qwertyjjj
Posts: 40
Joined: 2009/12/26 14:18:33

Re: startx won't start

Post by qwertyjjj » 2010/07/20 18:20:41

[quote]
qwertyjjj wrote:
I tried to change the resolution and when I reconnected, it doesn't show me the menu, also when I minimise the xterm, I can't get it back as I can no longer see the task bar across the bottom.
I changed the res back to the original, but it still doesn't appear. Any ideas?
Reason I asked about the program is that when I close down the VNC and reconnect, none of the windows of the application I was running are there anymore so it must hev been closed?[/quote]

ie the gnome panel is missing and won't start when I try gnome-panel &

pschaff
Retired Moderator
Posts: 18276
Joined: 2006/12/13 20:15:34
Location: Tidewater, Virginia, North America
Contact:

Re: startx won't start

Post by pschaff » 2010/07/21 00:34:10

How did you try to change the resolution? Have you read and followed the references?

qwertyjjj
Posts: 40
Joined: 2009/12/26 14:18:33

Re: startx won't start

Post by qwertyjjj » 2010/07/21 12:02:23

I changed it in the config file as per the setup.
I have since got the gnome panel back but I can;t get rid of the multiple xterm windows - any ideas?

Post Reply

Return to “CentOS 4 - General Support”