How can i change by default GUI?

General support questions including new installations
Post Reply
tashi
Posts: 4
Joined: 2005/11/20 12:46:23

How can i change by default GUI?

Post by tashi » 2005/11/20 12:49:40

i currently have both gnome and KDE installed on ym system, when i log in it boots into gnome. is there any way to make Centos deafult to KDE?
thanks,
Tashi

ehurst
Posts: 13
Joined: 2005/11/19 03:27:36
Location: Oklahoma City
Contact:

Re: How can i change by default GUI?

Post by ehurst » 2005/11/20 13:44:29

If you do not find a menu entry for "switchdesk" then open a terminal window and use the commandline. Simply type

switchdesk

and hit ENTER. It should open a window that will give you the option to choose any other window manager installed on your system.

w5set
Posts: 73
Joined: 2005/11/20 05:37:31

Re: How can i change by default GUI?

Post by w5set » 2005/11/20 16:45:57

That works if you have the switchdesk-gui installed--
if not then type in a terminal
yum install switchdesk-gui
and then the switchdesk GUI will come up
a shorter way is to type in
switchdesk KDE
or
switchdesk GNOME
or
switchdesk TWM

mr_manny
Posts: 84
Joined: 2005/09/18 15:17:35
Location: San Pancho, CA

Re: How can i change by default GUI?

Post by mr_manny » 2005/11/20 22:40:12

we can't forget the best one:
FLUXBOX

once you switch, you will never go back...

ehurst
Posts: 13
Joined: 2005/11/19 03:27:36
Location: Oklahoma City
Contact:

Re: How can i change by default GUI?

Post by ehurst » 2005/11/21 02:54:38

I'll bite mr_manny: I hated flux. I prefer IceWM or XFce 3.x. But then, I still think WP8 for Linux was the best ever word processor. 8-)

mr_manny
Posts: 84
Joined: 2005/09/18 15:17:35
Location: San Pancho, CA

Re: How can i change by default GUI?

Post by mr_manny » 2005/11/21 04:47:44

your kidding right ?

tashi
Posts: 4
Joined: 2005/11/20 12:46:23

Re: How can i change by default GUI?

Post by tashi » 2005/11/21 10:12:25

thanks alot. i love my KDE!

dgw789
Posts: 16
Joined: 2005/10/14 12:50:15

Re: How can i change by default GUI?

Post by dgw789 » 2005/11/21 16:32:21

If you want to permently change which one you use try this worked fine for me

just edit /etc/sysconfig/desktop
Replace DESKTOP=...
by DESKTOP="KDE"
or DESKTOP="GN

Post Reply

Return to “CentOS 4 - General Support”